Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 25 Aug 2009 (Tuesday) 14:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

imac or pc+killer monitor

jic2
55 posts
Joined Dec 2008

Aug 25, 2009 14:35 |  #1
bannedPermanent ban

I'm fairly new to photography and I'm not a computer geek. My question is should I spend the money on an imac 24" maxed out (2500+$) Or should I go the pc route with more powerful hardware and a better monitor? I have a 50d and shoot raw. I am using LRII (haven't gotten to deep in the software world due to the need for hw upgrade). My current computer is a 3+ year old hp pavilion lap top with 1g ram, 80g hdd, 17in mon, centrino duo 1.6gh, and a nvidia gf 7600 gc. I plan on getting an external hdd to get me by space wise but one gig of ram is not cutting it. I plan on suffering through until windows 7 comes out and I here that apple announces new products in the fall (imacs, snow leopard osx..). I'm not into video editing (at least not yet)and games are for consoles but it would be nice to have the option for these apps. Basically I want a system that will allow me to run multiple programs without bogging down, last for at least five years, and has a monitor that will display as much of the rgb as possible for $2,500 +/-. The system I'm looking for is going to be used mainly for still photography (running LRII, cs4, and dpp at the same time).

thank you for any input.
jic2

sponsored links
MaxxuM
Goldmember
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Joined May 2007

Aug 25, 2009 15:44 |  #2