Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 07 Sep 2009 (Monday) 23:42
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

advice on saving for "dream kit"

shooter ­ mcgavin
526 posts
Joined Nov 2007

Sep 07, 2009 23:42 |  #1

After buying and selling quite a few lenses, I think that I've finally reached the point where I know what I want, and I'd like to slow down a bit and save for those lenses that I really want.

I would eventually like to shoot with a 35L and 85L on FF bodies.

Since I'm currently a student and getting married next year, my camera fund is slow-flowing, so I'm trying to figure out the best path to get where I want to be.

I currently have a 20d, 50 f/1.8, and about $800 cash in my camera fund.

I don't have quite enough for the 35L yet, but after this week I think I will.

I really would like to get used to the 35/85 FF combo, but it seems like just getting the lenses and using them on the crop might be a better route than having other lenses to fill in for their equivalent FL's and selling them when I could afford everything at once.

Which route would you all go?

A) Buying what I eventually want anyway, then adding the 85L when I could afford it, then the FF's, so currently use:

20D, 35L, 50 f/1.8

or

B) Buying what I can afford now to fill in for what I would then be saving up for:

20Dx2, a sigma 20 or 24 f/1.8, and the 50 f/1.8

Thanks for any input!

sponsored links
Kzaroshen
233 posts
Joined Jan 2009

Sep 07, 2009 23:51 |  #2