Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 28 Oct 2009 (Wednesday) 11:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Indoor Asian Tea Ceremony Lighting Question

misshotnspicy
107 posts
Joined Jul 2009

Oct 28, 2009 11:31 |  #1

Hey Guys,

I have an indoor photo shoot coming up in 2 weeks and it will be my first paid event. I'm excited and nervous. She is actually a friend of a friend and she knows that I am fairly new in photography.

It is an indoor Asian Tea Ceremony similar to this: http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=BFQEfljC1YQ (external link). As you can see, it is very dark. I plan on using my 35mm f1.4 lens & 580ex ii flash with my 40D camera.

Steve (sdipirro) has been ABSOLUTELY wonderful with helping me with the light gears. He suggested a camera rotating brackets with some sort of modifier as it will be difficult to setup off camera lights on light stands and position them correctly and set the power correctly to get decently exposed shots.

Originally, I was thinking of the Alienbees B800, but most likely I will go with the camera rotating brackets as suggested by Steve. I would love to hear more expert opinions on this subject.

Thanks in advance,
Laura

www.lauravuphoto.com (external link)

sponsored links
dmeiselman
130 posts
Joined Jul 2009

Oct 28, 2009 12:10 |  #2

it all depends on the size of the room and ambient lighting conditions. This looks no different from lighting any other wedding.