Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 31 Oct 2009 (Saturday) 17:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Aputure Timer Remote (TC-80N3 equiv) and Aputure Coworker Wireless Remote Review

 
e02937
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Oct 31, 2009 17:25 |  #1

.........


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
L.Morey
Goldmember
Avatar
1,571 posts
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Modesto Ca
     
Oct 31, 2009 21:50 |  #2

Does the wireless remote do Bulb


7d gripped,40d gripped,G9,17-40f4L, 24-70f2.8 L, 70-200f2.8 mkll L, 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L, 50f1.4 , 85f1.8 , Sigma 24-70f2.8
Sigma 150-500 , Sigma 18-200f4-6.3 , Canon Ste2 , Canon
580mki , Canon 580mkllx2
http://lwmorey.zenfoli​o.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Oct 31, 2009 22:00 |  #3

Yes, it does do bulb mode. I just tried it a bunch of times. You press the button half way for focus, then all the way down, hold it down for about 2 seconds until its light shuts off. Shutter is now open until you press again. For all intents and purposes it is my understanding that these remotes just do the same exact thing as pressing the shutter.

Of course the wireless version has no way to control bulb mode for a certain amount of time, it's just open until you shut it.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 01, 2009 13:54 |  #4

Bump for Sunday folks. I'm happy to try and answer questions if I can!


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ASGvideo
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Nov 03, 2009 07:00 as a reply to  @ e02937's post |  #5

How do you find the battery life? I got the Aputure on Friday, on Sunday the battery indicator was flashing low battery after maybe 6 hours of use and without removing the battery in between. So Tuesday I buy a new battery, run a timelapse for 3 hours, then the battery indicator is flashing again. How can a new battery run out in three hours when it's supposed to last three years?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 03, 2009 07:02 |  #6

I haven't seen the battery indicator yet on the timer remote but I also haven't used it for 6 straight hours. I wonder if someone else has this (or the canon one) and could comment on their experience.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Promotion ­ House
Member
49 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: MN
     
Nov 03, 2009 14:06 |  #7

Do you know if I can set it to take a shot every 1 or 2 seconds for a set time or until a flash card is full? I saw one that would only do 99 shots and shut off. I'm looking to do some stop motion. Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 03, 2009 14:12 |  #8

The manual (and setting on the remote) indicates that 99 is the maximum on this one as well.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Promotion ­ House
Member
49 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: MN
     
Nov 03, 2009 14:24 |  #9

hmmm would you or anyone know if the Canon TC-80N3 has a max too? The kids and I were screwing around yesterday using a XT and a RC1 remote which got old quick... plus it didn't work 25% of the time. Would be nice to plug something into the 40D and let it go for a while... although 99 is a lot of shots...

http://www.vimeo.com/7​400837 (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 225
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 03, 2009 14:28 |  #10

According to the TC-80N3 manual if you set the exposure count to 0 in either interval or long exposure modes, it'll keep shooting indefinitely (p. 32 of the PDF copy I have). I don't have the timer handy to try it.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 03, 2009 14:29 |  #11

Hmm, I wonder if I can test that with this one, I am going by the manual and what I was able to set in it


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ASGvideo
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Nov 03, 2009 18:47 as a reply to  @ e02937's post |  #12

Yes you can set the number of shots to zero and it runs indefinitely. Or until the battery runs out :)

The interval function is the gap between the long exposure function, so if you set interval to 5s and long exposure to 30 sec it will hold the shutter button down for 30s, then wait 5s before repeating. You can use this mode to take brackets provided the three exposures don't take longer than 30s and the drive mode is continuous. I've been trying to do day to night timelapse in A mode with this. By the time it's dark the exposure needs to be 30s. It's highlighted problems with the aputure battery indicator which is probably just some anomaly as it seems to go away when I take the battery out and put it back. Then it comes back again later.

It also highlighted a hot pixel that DPP doesn't remove but ACR does. DPP seems to replace the green pixel with a 3x3 b&w checker pattern but doesn't actually remove. Which is weird.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 03, 2009 22:32 |  #13

ASGvideo wrote in post #8949677 (external link)
Yes you can set the number of shots to zero and it runs indefinitely. Or until the battery runs out :)

Are you talking about the Aputure or the Canon TC80-N3?

I haven't had a chance to test the Aputure, but will shortly.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ASGvideo
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Nov 04, 2009 00:01 |  #14

Sorry yes I meant Aputure.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fiveFPS
Goldmember
1,180 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2007
     
Nov 04, 2009 12:54 |  #15

ASGvideo wrote in post #8945974 (external link)
How do you find the battery life? I got the Aputure on Friday, on Sunday the battery indicator was flashing low battery after maybe 6 hours of use and without removing the battery in between. So Tuesday I buy a new battery, run a timelapse for 3 hours, then the battery indicator is flashing again. How can a new battery run out in three hours when it's supposed to last three years?

On your first battery did you actually use the timer until it ran out of batteries or did you just see the low level and swapped it out on tuesday?

I was just thinking maybe the battery indicator is just faulty but in reality the battery has a lot of life left.


Canon XTI | Canon 430ex | Crumpler 7MDH | 18-55mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,191 views & 0 likes for this thread
Aputure Timer Remote (TC-80N3 equiv) and Aputure Coworker Wireless Remote Review
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is sunisland227
1077 guests, 292 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.