Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Dec 2009 (Tuesday) 19:37
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Picked up a used 20D, 0 shutter count?

 
Boomerbsg
Member
90 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Dec 08, 2009 19:37 |  #1

So was in houston today, and ran across a good deal on a 20D, so despite good judgment I put it on my CC and got it home.
Installed the windows drivers, installed EOSutility, and it shows 0 shutter actuations. I fired it a few times at the store. So I know it should show something. Any ideas?

Cheers


Canon 40D|Tamron 17-50mm |430EXII| Next Purchase: 70-200 F4L in the future...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
msowsun
"approx 8mm"
Avatar
9,288 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 388
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Dec 08, 2009 20:05 |  #2

Where does it say "0" ?

What does the File folder and image number say when you take a photo?


Mike Sowsun / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 100-400 II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Boomerbsg
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
90 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Dec 08, 2009 21:46 |  #3

That's just it, I didn't have a CF card, the place I got the camera wanted too much for their cards, so I ran home tinkered with it a bit then ran to best buy and got a 4gig CF card.
It says 0 on the line for shutter count in the utility. Does the shutter count get reset if it goes in for a new shutter?

After seeing the prices of CF cards, I kinda miss my XS already lol.

When I get back home I'll pop in the CF card and see. The camera is already flashed to the latest firmware, and I know in my XS you can reset the picture nameing/number count, hope no one did that to the 20D.

Cheers


Canon 40D|Tamron 17-50mm |430EXII| Next Purchase: 70-200 F4L in the future...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1069
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Dec 08, 2009 21:50 |  #4

Keep in mind that a used CF card will continue the image file number when it left off in the previous camera. Format it first.


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ThomGascoigne
Senior Member
Avatar
820 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Canberra Australia
     
Dec 08, 2009 21:54 |  #5

I didn't think there was anyway to get a shutter count on a 20D


5D MK II | 20D | 14 F/2.8L II | 24-70 F/2.8L | 70-200 F/2.8L IS | [FONT="Arial Black"]28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS | 580 EX II
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Leonid ­ Photography
Senior Member
Avatar
715 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Cupertino, CA
     
Dec 08, 2009 23:02 |  #6

yeah I was told that only canon can give you shutter count for xxD series cameras. Maybe thats why the software shows zero.


Canon 6D, Canon 50mm 1.8 STM
YN568-II, YN560-III, YN460
Feedback: Search for Leonid Photography, and EM2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sallenthornton
Member
34 posts
Joined Jul 2008
     
Dec 08, 2009 23:19 |  #7

I don't have much to offer as for as the OP's original question, but.... I was wondering what type of deal he got on the 20D? I just purchased a used one from a member here, and must say it's a very nice camera. Compared to my original XT.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mirox
Member
75 posts
Joined Sep 2009
     
Dec 08, 2009 23:29 as a reply to  @ ThomGascoigne's post |  #8

Here (external link) you can get the shutter count for the 20D. It's not super hard, but requires you to look in the hex of a RAW. Helpful screenshot posted later in the thread: (external link)

Best of luck... mine was around 35K.


5D Mark II, 24-105/F4 L, 50/1.4, 70-200 F4 L, 15 2.8
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
"approx 8mm"
Avatar
9,288 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 388
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Dec 08, 2009 23:42 |  #9

mirox wrote in post #9162186 (external link)
Here (external link) you can get the shutter count for the 20D. It's not super hard, but requires you to look in the hex of a RAW. Helpful screenshot posted later in the thread: (external link)

Best of luck... mine was around 35K.

According to "Jim" in that link, it doesn't really work...

In Plain English: It Doesn't Work :)

Really, people have been trying to figure out how to get an accurate shutter count for the 20D and 30D for a long time and nobody has found a way to do it other than to use Canon's special software. Why this information is hidden from us on these cameras is a mystery.

If you want to prove that this method does not work, do the following:

First, take a photo using the CF card you've got in the camera now.

Remove that CF card and set it aside. You'll need it later to restore your file numbering to where it is now.

Take a different CF card and using a card reader connected to your PC, delete all files and directories on the card.

Now, insert that card into your camera.

In the Menu, find "File Numbering". Switch that from Continuous to "Auto Reset".

Now, take a photo.

Remove that CF card and put it back into your card reader connected to your PC.

Open that RAW file with the hex editor.

The actual file number is Folder 100, shot 0001 but the decoded Hex will tell you that the number is now 281.

This tells us that first, this location does not show the actual shutter actuations and second, this number cannot be simply decoded as a standard HEX number to even read the file number.

A while back, someone posted the way to properly decode this data to arrive at the current file number on the DPReview 20D forum. I don't remember the details but the main point is that this pair of locations does not give the number of shutter actuations. It only gives you the current file number, and that is easily reset so you never can know what the true shutter count is for a 20D.

Ok, now if you want to get your camera set back to the same shot number as where you left off (more or less), do the following:

Put the card with the 100 0001 shot on it (The shot you just took) back into the camera. Go into the menu and set the File Numbering mode back to "continuous".

Now remove that card.

Install the card we set aside earlier.

Now your camera's numbering will adopt the numbering from that old card and you should be back where you started.

Sadly, nobody that I know of has cracked this mystery...... yet :)

Jim


Mike Sowsun / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 100-400 II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Boomerbsg
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
90 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Dec 09, 2009 02:26 |  #10

Okay, got the CF card in and took a few pics. 9720. So just under 10K.

I liked my XS, but wanted something a little more rugged. I wanted a 30D for the spot metering, but couldn't find one locally. I paid just over $300 for this body, and there's a little hot shoe wear, and its kinda dusty, but other than that it seems to be in great shape. I'll be happy if it lasts till this time next year

Cheers


Canon 40D|Tamron 17-50mm |430EXII| Next Purchase: 70-200 F4L in the future...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
philwillmedia
Cream of the Crop
5,253 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 23
Joined Nov 2008
Location: "...just south of the 23rd Paralell..."
     
Dec 09, 2009 02:33 |  #11

Boomerbsg wrote in post #9162762 (external link)
Okay, got the CF card in and took a few pics. 9720. So just under 10K.

Cheers

Yeah, but how many times has it been round the clock?
Once it gets to 9999, it goes back to zero.

I have a 10D that does the same thing.


Regards, Phil
2019 South Australian Country Press Assoc Sports Photo of the Year - Runner Up
2018 South Australian Country Press Assoc Sports Photo of the Year
2018 CAMS (now Motorsport Australia) Gold Accredited Photographer
Finallist - 2014 NT Media Awards
"A bad day at the race track is better than a good day in the office"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Boomerbsg
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
90 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Dec 09, 2009 03:05 |  #12

Oh? I had no idea it flipped at 10K, that seems silly of canon lol. And probably answers the question posed earlier, about why there's no way to check the actual clicks.

Cheers


Canon 40D|Tamron 17-50mm |430EXII| Next Purchase: 70-200 F4L in the future...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
blueM
"I am the Prince of Dorkness"
Avatar
1,662 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Bluffton, SC
     
Dec 09, 2009 07:13 |  #13

If the camera numbering is set to Auto Reset, the CF card will read 0001 each time you format (see manual page 61)


Kevin

Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Boomerbsg
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
90 posts
Joined Mar 2009
     
Dec 10, 2009 00:19 |  #14

Is there a 20D picture thread?
I searched but no luck.


Canon 40D|Tamron 17-50mm |430EXII| Next Purchase: 70-200 F4L in the future...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,329 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 430
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Dec 10, 2009 02:12 |  #15

Boomerbsg wrote in post #9162845 (external link)
Oh? I had no idea it flipped at 10K, that seems silly of canon lol.

It is not a shutter count, it's a file name. File names of images can be altered as you like. They can relate to the shutter count, but they most certainly don't have to.

It's not silly by Canon either, as it's the Exif standard that says that files should be named this way. Again, it's a file name, it's not a shutter count.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,723 views & 0 likes for this thread
Picked up a used 20D, 0 shutter count?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Joeblow5411986
599 guests, 230 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.