Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Astronomy & Celestial 
Thread started 10 Dec 2009 (Thursday) 12:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Color enhanced moon image

DonR
262 posts
Joined Dec 2009

Dec 10, 2009 12:56 |  #1

Hi,

I'm new to POTN and I have a Canon Digital Rebel XT that I have been using for astrophotography for about three years. A few nights ago I took some shots of the moon, mainly because the moon was so bright it was difficult to image anything else in the sky.

The next day I ran across this article (external link) on the internet by Filipe Alves describing a procedure for create color enhanced images of the moon, and I decided to give it a try. Here's the result:

IMAGE: http://www.pbase.com/dtreed/image/119916801/large.jpg

This is not a "false color" or "mapped color" image. Those techniques use special filters or post-processing manipulation of the color channels in order to bring out specific aspects of the moon surface. This image instead shows the natural colors of the surface of the moon with enhanced color saturation.