Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 22 Dec 2009 (Tuesday) 19:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

new 7D with high shutter count

 
Pearlallica
Goldmember
Avatar
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Great White North
     
Dec 22, 2009 19:56 |  #1

hey guys,

bought a 7D last night, I was going through my pictures and just realized that the first picture I took was IMG_1518.CR2

When I bought past new cameras they were always IMG_0001.CR2

Who here would go back to the store furious or who here wouldn't bother caring... i'm guessin' there won't be many in the second group....


jonathan @ tlcphoto.com (external link) - pro wedding and portrait photog
5d2 5d3 50L 16-35 70-200 ElinchromRX600 580EX 600EX VIV285

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:03 |  #2

Okay, before you panic, many stores will take a camera out and fire a few test shots with it, just to be sure it's 100%. If they do, they probably have a compact flash card that's been in a lot of cameras and might have some other images on it, or hasn't been formated in a long time. The camera will start the numbering after the last file number that was on the card (in this case that would have been #1517).... Maybe.

Or, perhaps it was a returned item and has some clicks on it. Or a demo unit. Or a refurb. In none of which cases would it be acceptible for the store to sell it represented as a new item.

1500 isn't a lot of clicks. But it's the principle of the thing. If you buy a car that's a demo or was returned, it's discounted and not represented as brand new.

There are shutter count softwares that can be used with some Canon cameras, that would tell you for sure how many clicks the camera has on it. But I don't know if any of them work with 7D.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Skrim17
The only TPBMer without a title. Enjoying my anonymity.
Avatar
40,070 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2006
Location: In my tree
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:07 |  #3

did you format the card in the camera before shooting?


Crissa
PLEASE HELP ME FIND MY PHOTOS!! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pearlallica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Great White North
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:08 |  #4

i would hope it was at the very least a returned unit. You just never know what the previous "owner" may have put the camera through (unlikely the worst case scenarios we tend to fear first). It's just a little agitating because when you pay for something new you expect it to be fresh from the factory. It's true that it's a 8fps camera and it probably won't take long to get to 1500 with this thing, but still, it's nice to be informed that it's actually slightly used, especially when you've just plopped 3000 at the store on a camera and accessories.


jonathan @ tlcphoto.com (external link) - pro wedding and portrait photog
5d2 5d3 50L 16-35 70-200 ElinchromRX600 580EX 600EX VIV285

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pearlallica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Great White North
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:10 |  #5

Skrim17 wrote in post #9248115 (external link)
did you format the card in the camera before shooting?

I don't think so, but even still, my 5D2 is sitting at IMG_5048.CR2 so I can't imagine that is the explanation... if it somehow is then I'll glady adopt that theory over the "previous owner" theory :/


jonathan @ tlcphoto.com (external link) - pro wedding and portrait photog
5d2 5d3 50L 16-35 70-200 ElinchromRX600 580EX 600EX VIV285

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Palladium
Goldmember
3,905 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Not the Left Coast but the Right Coast - USA
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:16 |  #6

Pearlallica wrote in post #9248132 (external link)
I don't think so, but even still, my 5D2 is sitting at IMG_5048.CR2 so I can't imagine that is the explanation... if it somehow is then I'll glady adopt that theory over the "previous owner" theory :/

do a search on your cpu and you'll have your answer

search for

IMG_15**.***

you can put in the extension .jpg or .cr2

anyway if you have some images starting with IMG_15 I'm thinking your the culprit ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pearlallica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Great White North
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:23 |  #7

I do have images in the IMG_15xx range which did exist on my sandisc extreme iii card in August, but it's been formatted many, many, many (police academy reference lol) times since then. They are in my lightroom catalogue but the camera or the card had no interaction with these old files to begin with...


jonathan @ tlcphoto.com (external link) - pro wedding and portrait photog
5d2 5d3 50L 16-35 70-200 ElinchromRX600 580EX 600EX VIV285

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1061
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:43 |  #8

Similar thing happened to a forum member a few weeks ago. There was a really long thread about it. The conclusion: the store clerk used a store CF card that already had images on it, and that changed the cameras numbering to continue where the last picture on that store CF was left off.
Your case may be different, do you think the store clerk demod the camera there? Did you and him test it in the store before you bought it, using a store CF card?


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pearlallica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Great White North
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:46 |  #9

gabebalazs wrote in post #9248293 (external link)
Similar thing happened to a forum member a few weeks ago. There was a really long thread about it. The conclusion: the store clerk used a store CF card that already had images on it, and that changed the cameras numbering to continue where the last picture on that store CF was left off.
Your case may be different, do you think the store clerk demod the camera there? Did you and him test it in the store before you bought it, using a store CF card?

We didn't try it in the store. I just walked in, said I wanted the camera despite never even touching a 7D in my life, grabbed the box fresh off the shelf, got home and slapped in my own card with the IMG_5xxx.CR2 count which was not formatted.


jonathan @ tlcphoto.com (external link) - pro wedding and portrait photog
5d2 5d3 50L 16-35 70-200 ElinchromRX600 580EX 600EX VIV285

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JWright
Planes, trains and ham radio...
Avatar
18,399 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Dec 2004
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:56 as a reply to  @ Pearlallica's post |  #10

I went through the same thing when I upgraded my D60 to a 20D.

What most people DON'T realize is that if you take a card used in one camera and put it in another camera the new camera is going to pick up the existing numbering sequence on the card whether the card is formatted in either or both cameras first. The only way to avoid this is to format the card in the computer, using a card reader, BEFORE inserting it into the new camera and formatting it there. I now have a dedicated set of media cards for each of four cameras I have so I'm not intermixing them.


John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoneTomorrow
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
     
Dec 22, 2009 20:59 |  #11

Check the actual shutter count with the astrojargon utility.


Canon 5D Mk II (35/1.4L | 24-70/2.8L | 135/2L | Euro Nifty | 430EX II | Gitzo G1125 + 494RC2) flickr (external link)

I bought a new camera. It's very advanced - you don't even need it. ~Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1061
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Dec 22, 2009 21:03 |  #12

Check the actual shutter count with the astrojargon utility.

Does that work on the 7D too? I thought it was only 40D, and 50D.


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoneTomorrow
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
     
Dec 22, 2009 21:11 |  #13

gabebalazs wrote in post #9248396 (external link)
Does that work on the 7D too? I thought it was only 40D, and 50D.

According to the web site, it works with all Digic III/IV bodies except the 1D bodies.

EDIT: Well, just tried it with mine and I can't get it to work, so scratch that. :/


Canon 5D Mk II (35/1.4L | 24-70/2.8L | 135/2L | Euro Nifty | 430EX II | Gitzo G1125 + 494RC2) flickr (external link)

I bought a new camera. It's very advanced - you don't even need it. ~Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1061
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Dec 22, 2009 21:20 |  #14

According to the web site, it works with all Digic III/IV bodies except the 1D bodies.

EDIT: Well, just tried it with mine and I can't get it to work, so scratch that. :/

Darn it, I was hoping you were right.


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoneTomorrow
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
     
Dec 22, 2009 21:23 |  #15

gabebalazs wrote in post #9248496 (external link)
Darn it, I was hoping you were right.

Give a shot too, you never know, could be something screwed up on my end (and no I don't mean me :p)


Canon 5D Mk II (35/1.4L | 24-70/2.8L | 135/2L | Euro Nifty | 430EX II | Gitzo G1125 + 494RC2) flickr (external link)

I bought a new camera. It's very advanced - you don't even need it. ~Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,525 views & 0 likes for this thread
new 7D with high shutter count
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is heflerbj
900 guests, 296 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.