Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Jan 2010 (Wednesday) 00:26
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

User error with 7D causes bad pictures LOL

 
gdl357
Senior Member
Avatar
877 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:26 |  #1

I just can't get decent indor peicture where my 50D had no problems doin it. I have way more noise with my 7D. I am dissapointed. I wonder if there is something wrong with my camera...unless it really is me.

This is with a 70-200 2.8 IS on a tripod with a 580 EX II in an umbrella on the right front of the subject. Subject 20 feet away. Horible.


"A mind once stretched by the imagination never regains it's original form."

:p Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
sportsshooter50
Member
249 posts
Joined Nov 2008
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:32 |  #2

Have you tried sharpening the photo?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,818 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:33 |  #3

I agree that it doesn't look right but I'm a little confused by your choice of settings. 1 second exposure at f/2.8 and ISO 400 while using a flash? Looking at teh shadow on teh background it seems like the 580 should have been closer to her.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickr (external link)
Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
speedline_fc
Senior Member
Avatar
282 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Location: So Cal
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:33 |  #4

Your exposure seems a little screwy (that's putting it nicely)

# Exposure Time (1 / Shutter Speed) = 1/1 second ===> 1 second
# Lens F-Number / F-Stop = 28/10 ===> ƒ/2.8
# ISO Speed Ratings = 400

a shutter speed of "1 second" is most likely capturing a lot of subject movement

how about posting some daylight shots of static objects (trees, signs, rocks) with plenty of sunlight?


My Flickr (external link)
https://photography-on-the.net …php?p=9822373#p​ost9822373

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Invertalon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,495 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:35 |  #5

Yeah, with a flash you should be able to shoot much higher shutter speeds. One second? Why?

And you can correct WB easily from RAW.

Looks to be serious user error here..


-Steve
Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
callaesthetics
Senior Member
257 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Twin Cities, MN
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:36 |  #6

I first had the same trouble.
Using a dedicated focus point is the proper way to shoot portrait.
Also turn off all noise reduction settings.
Now i get very sharp images.

This one was also shot on a 7D and 2 speedlights thru softbox umbrellas.
Just keep shooting and adjusting, this camera can do really great things.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | Redirected to error image by MYSPACECDN

5DmkIII, 200 2.8L II, 135L, 100L, 50L, 35L, 40 2.8,17-40L, Tamron 45
www.facebook.com/camxi​ongphotographer

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gdl357
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
877 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:37 as a reply to  @ speedline_fc's post |  #7

Umbrella was 3 feet away from her pointing downwards and to the wall at 45deg angle.

All I did was put my camera to auto ISO and AV and took the shot. The 580 was at EC +2 and set to slave and triggered from the 7D.

I have "Standard" set to 4 = sharpening, +1 = contrast. I will put these back to default. ISO Noise reduction was set to "standard"


"A mind once stretched by the imagination never regains it's original form."

:p Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sportsshooter50
Member
249 posts
Joined Nov 2008
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:37 |  #8

By the way, you exif data shows 1 second. Photographing a person at that speed, even with a tripod, can be tricky. Plus the f-stop is 2.8. That makes for a very shallow depth of field.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,818 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:40 |  #9

gdl357 wrote in post #9334147 (external link)
Umbrella was 3 feet away from her pointing downwards and to the wall at 45deg angle.

All I did was put my camera to auto ISO and AV and took the shot. The 580 was at EC +2 and set to slave and triggered from the 7D.

Don't use Av with a flash. It does the metering and selects the shutter speed (and ISO in your situation) based only on the ambient light. Try using Tv at 1/100 or faster. You may also find that auto ISO doesn't work well with flash but I have no experience with that.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickr (external link)
Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
18,871 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:42 |  #10

As others have stated... exposure 1sec???


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​com (external link) | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gdl357
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
877 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:47 |  #11

themadman wrote in post #9334174 (external link)
As others have stated... exposure 1sec???

I shut all the lights off in the house and had a little light coming from a window on the oposite side of the umbrella, then I shot the camera/flash to get what you see.

The place i am shooting has fleurecent lights. i was trying to see if I could get away without having them turned on.


"A mind once stretched by the imagination never regains it's original form."

:p Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jxs1984
Senior Member
342 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2006
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:54 |  #12

IS turned off?



Nikon D810 · Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8 · Sigma 35mm f/1.4 art · Nikon 85mm f/1.8g
flickr (external link), facebook (external link)
, gear & feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
callaesthetics
Senior Member
257 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Twin Cities, MN
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:55 |  #13

gdl357 wrote in post #9334189 (external link)
I shut all the lights off in the house and had a little light coming from a window on the oposite side of the umbrella, then I shot the camera/flash to get what you see.

The place i am shooting has fleurecent lights. i was trying to see if I could get away without having them turned on.

even if you shoot at F4 and 1/250th iso100...that should be enough to kill the ambient lights.


5DmkIII, 200 2.8L II, 135L, 100L, 50L, 35L, 40 2.8,17-40L, Tamron 45
www.facebook.com/camxi​ongphotographer

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
7,503 posts
Gallery: 126 photos
Likes: 1282
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:55 |  #14

Your mistake is that you used AV mode.


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 24LmkII | 85 mkII L | | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji - gone
Sony 2 x A7iii w/ Sigma MC-11 adapter | GM16-35 f/2.8 | Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 | GM70-200 f/2.8 |Sigma Art 24 f/1.4 | Sigma ART 35 f/1.2 | FE85 f/1.8 | Sigma ART 105 f/1.4 | Godox V860iiS & V1S

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gdl357
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
877 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
     
Jan 06, 2010 00:59 |  #15

jxs1984 wrote in post #9334209 (external link)
IS turned off?

The IS on the 2.8 70-200 detects tripod. No need to turn it off. It actually helps having it on to help with tripod vibration, as per the manual.


"A mind once stretched by the imagination never regains it's original form."

:p Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,561 views & 0 likes for this thread
User error with 7D causes bad pictures LOL
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nidzza2
1181 guests, 211 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.