Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 28 Feb 2010 (Sunday) 08:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

I'm thinking of buying 5 x pocketwizard Plus II's but....

 
Gel
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
Feb 28, 2010 08:47 |  #1

They don't 'appear' to have a 'fire all' function.

IMAGE: http://shutterbug.com/images/archivesart/1004sb_bowensi01.jpg

I have 4 monolights, but 3 Bowens Pulsar triggers and need a couple more and was thinking of moving over to PW's.

On all the Pulsars they have an 'All, 1, 2, 3, 4' channel selection so I can test each one individually and then set the one on my camera to 'All' and it will fire all of them.

The PW II's don't appear to have that function and it seems I would have to go to each monolight and set the channel to match the one on my camera.

I've read the manual too and cannot find anything there....just seems a bit silly to leave such a thing out?

Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
cogliostro
Member
239 posts
Joined Dec 2009
     
Feb 28, 2010 08:56 |  #2

Which means it can also fire flashes around you that uses the same trigger, then?
Imo, one of the purpose of channel is also for the convenience of multiple flashes that won't flash when you fire one of them.
I've read in strobist.com about someone who apparently in the same channel with a manual mode flash set in full power and fire it continuously. cmiiw though


5d2 and glasses
deviantart (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Feb 28, 2010 09:07 as a reply to  @ cogliostro's post |  #3

It's the Pocket Wizard Multi Max that will do what you want but that's a large jump in price.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OldA1
Senior Member
Avatar
400 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, Fl.
     
Feb 28, 2010 09:57 |  #4

Have you looked into the Elinchrom Skyports? They have independent channel and group settings. You can have all your lights on the same channel but in 4 different groups and use the transmitter to fire 1 group at a time to dial in your exposure then switch it to ALL to take the picture.

Peace
Mark




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
x0SiN0x
Member
238 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Westminster, CO
     
Feb 28, 2010 10:26 |  #5

OldA1 wrote in post #9699794 (external link)
Have you looked into the Elinchrom Skyports? They have independent channel and group settings. You can have all your lights on the same channel but in 4 different groups and use the transmitter to fire 1 group at a time to dial in your exposure then switch it to ALL to take the picture.

Peace
Mark

Ive been using these and they seem to work quite well


x0SiN0x AKA Tony - SiN is a (video) game name, nothing more!
Still learning (yes, newb) like some of you here, so please take any recommendations/opinio​ns with that in mind.
-[SmugMug (external link) | Gear | Feedback]-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ueb0258
Senior Member
496 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Nashvegas
     
Feb 28, 2010 10:37 |  #6

OldA1 wrote in post #9699794 (external link)
Have you looked into the Elinchrom Skyports? They have independent channel and group settings. You can have all your lights on the same channel but in 4 different groups and use the transmitter to fire 1 group at a time to dial in your exposure then switch it to ALL to take the picture.

Peace
Mark

I have to agree. I have 5 skyports and its great to be able to cut background lights off or kill a fill or whatever. Also good if you have two setups going and need to switch seamlessly back and forth.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,133 views & 0 likes for this thread
I'm thinking of buying 5 x pocketwizard Plus II's but....
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Rebart
950 guests, 325 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.