Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk 
Thread started 01 Mar 2010 (Monday) 10:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Error Using Tubes

 
bruceq
Member
108 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: NE Pennsylvania
     
Mar 01, 2010 10:06 |  #1

I know I saw a thread about this issue before but for the life of me I can't find it now.

I'm having an issue using my T1I, EF100 f2.8 and extension tubes. Everything is fine with 2 tubes but if I add a 3rd, I recieve an error. I've tested with multiple light sources and have the same outcome.

The tubes are Pro Optic from Adorama... should I return them and get Kenko? Or is something else at fault?

Thanks in advance for any help.


Cameras - 5D MkII/Grip, 7D/Grip, T1i/Grip
Lens - EF-S 10-22, EF-S 18-55, EF 35-70, EF-S 55-250, EF 17-40L, EF 24-105L IS, EF 70-200 2.8L IS, EF 70-210, EF 100-400L, Sigma 150-500 OS, EF 100L IS, EF 180L, EF 85 1.8, EF 50 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
Avatar
60,886 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4980
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Worthing UK
     
Mar 01, 2010 12:51 |  #2

Is this with any combination of 2 tubes is ok ?
and your certain the tubes are locked properly ?
I'd just check the contacts on the tubes, camera body and lens look ok.
Have heard it claimed you are supposed to use tubes in size order with the largest tube first on the camera body but never seemed to affect mine, although I have had the odd error when using 3 normally solved by taking them off and reseating them.

Brian v.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bruceq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
108 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: NE Pennsylvania
     
Mar 01, 2010 13:00 |  #3

Yea, it's happening with any combination.. as long as it's not all 3.

Right now my batteries are charging but I'm going to try installing 1 tube on the body and 2 on the lens, then putting them together and see if it makes a difference? I'm really bummed at this point.


Cameras - 5D MkII/Grip, 7D/Grip, T1i/Grip
Lens - EF-S 10-22, EF-S 18-55, EF 35-70, EF-S 55-250, EF 17-40L, EF 24-105L IS, EF 70-200 2.8L IS, EF 70-210, EF 100-400L, Sigma 150-500 OS, EF 100L IS, EF 180L, EF 85 1.8, EF 50 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bruceq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
108 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: NE Pennsylvania
     
Mar 01, 2010 18:31 as a reply to  @ bruceq's post |  #4

Ok, after charging the batteries I did some more testing. I used the 3 tubes in various combinations of order and had the same result. Any 2 tubes works great... add the 3rd tube and I get the ER01 code.

Has anyone else had this issue? Should I assume there is something wrong with the Pro-Optics tubes from Adorama and exchange them for Kenko's?
Thanks


Cameras - 5D MkII/Grip, 7D/Grip, T1i/Grip
Lens - EF-S 10-22, EF-S 18-55, EF 35-70, EF-S 55-250, EF 17-40L, EF 24-105L IS, EF 70-200 2.8L IS, EF 70-210, EF 100-400L, Sigma 150-500 OS, EF 100L IS, EF 180L, EF 85 1.8, EF 50 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JEC
Senior Member
Avatar
334 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Centerville, Ohio
     
Mar 01, 2010 18:37 |  #5

I'm just guessing, but perhaps the weight of the lens is causing the tubes to flex just a bit. Perhaps just enough to break the electrical circuit.
Maybe a thorough inpection and "tweaking" of each electrical contact on each tube section will solve your problem.

I can't imagine that the actual "number" is tubes matters. I use 6 or 7 at times.
Usually they are between a center supported Tamron 180mm macro lens one one end and a heavy camera on the other. I see the whole assembly flex a bit when I put it together, and I've at times wondered if electrical continuity will remain.
So far, so good.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
Avatar
60,886 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4980
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Worthing UK
     
Mar 02, 2010 00:15 |  #6

Certainly sounds like you have a contact problem going on. I've not seen this reported as a problem with the pro-optics before so would guess they are defective in some way.

Brian v.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bruceq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
108 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: NE Pennsylvania
     
Mar 12, 2010 19:01 as a reply to  @ LordV's post |  #7

Well I returned the Pro Optics to Adorama and bought the Kenko tubes instead. I'm very pleased to report that there are no issues with the Kenko's at all! :D


Cameras - 5D MkII/Grip, 7D/Grip, T1i/Grip
Lens - EF-S 10-22, EF-S 18-55, EF 35-70, EF-S 55-250, EF 17-40L, EF 24-105L IS, EF 70-200 2.8L IS, EF 70-210, EF 100-400L, Sigma 150-500 OS, EF 100L IS, EF 180L, EF 85 1.8, EF 50 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
Avatar
60,886 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4980
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Worthing UK
     
Mar 13, 2010 00:21 |  #8

bruceq wrote in post #9785253 (external link)
Well I returned the Pro Optics to Adorama and bought the Kenko tubes instead. I'm very pleased to report that there are no issues with the Kenko's at all! :D

Odd re the pro-optics- they must have a bad batch - someone on another forum reported a similar problem after yours. Glad you've got a working set now.
Brian V.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dicklaxt
Goldmember
1,090 posts
Joined Aug 2008
     
Mar 13, 2010 03:29 |  #9

If any two out of three worked properly and all three gave a problem then the problem has to be with flexing/movement separating the contact at the tube nearest the camera from the contact on the camera .It has to be a misfit on the mating of devices.I suspect a quality control problem with the computer program that is controlling the manufacturing process of the tubes,the tolerances are a few thousands out of spec.

The weight of the lens in this setup is the only thing that comes to play,I'll bet a light weight lens would have worked but that doesn't make it right ,the problem is still with the tolerances.

dick




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,146 views & 0 likes for this thread
Error Using Tubes
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is downhillonwater
1051 guests, 353 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.