Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Sports Talk 
Thread started 12 Mar 2010 (Friday) 16:03
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Baseball Tips and Settings

Pipernails
Mostly Lurking
19 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Mar 2010

Mar 12, 2010 16:03 |  #1

Hi,

I am new to Canon Forums and would appreciate any suggestions, advice, recommendations, and opinions.

I am preparing to shoot my son's travel baseball team and would like some help in the following areas:

1. Shadows on the field: How does one account for different lighting conditions on the field? What settings would allow me to shoot the batter in one light and the baserunner in another?
2. Back Button Focus
3. RAW vs. JPEG

I normally shoot in M or Av mode, AI Servo, Center AF point, RAW, with the Mark III 1D
and 70-200mm F2.8.

Thanks so much!
Laura

sponsored links
MJPhotos24
Cream of the Crop
5,619 posts
Joined Nov 2005

Mar 12, 2010 17:01 |  #2

Welcome to the forum, check out this link and the search feature will help a lot.

https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=136949

1 - be prepared to switch, before a pitch I expose both and know what to change my shutter to while moving from the batter to field. Some will say AV mode is fine, and it is at times, but exposing yourself is better than letting the camera make decisions because sometimes it gets things confused. You can also use the switch for the AF-ON and register an AV setting you like to make a quick switch, do that often as well.