Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 22 Mar 2010 (Monday) 17:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How to turn down photoshoot requests from friends?

trale
46 posts
Joined Mar 2010

Mar 22, 2010 17:52 |  #1

I'm a hobbyist photographer that graduated from college a while ago. I still have tons of friends that are still going to college, and I am still actively involved in campus activities. This makes it easy for me to arrange photoshoots with wanna-be models or girls that just want some good pictures of themselves. All my shoots so far have been with girls that are friends at least at one point or other, all done for free. I'm using it to build up a personal portfolio should I ever decide to get a little more serious.

I've gotten to a point where I'm getting picky about the girls that I'm willing shoot though. They have to meet a certain standard of beauty, or at least inspire me on some level, and they need to have a different "look" than girls I've shot before.

I actually try to keep a low profile, but inevitably, word spreads, especially when my "models" start posting their photoshoot pictures in their Facebook. Among my Facebook network I've gathered quite a reputation as a photographer that does photoshoots for free and can make you look like a Cover Girl.

So recently, I've been getting hints or even outright requests for photoshoots; sometime from genuine friends, and some from "facebook friends" - or not really friends at all.