Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 31 Mar 2010 (Wednesday) 01:29
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New to PW Mini TT1 & Flex TT5

 
canondslr
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Mar 31, 2010 01:29 |  #1

Hi Guys,
Im new to these OCF stuff, and new also to PW TT1 & TT5 devices.
So, I have some questions regarding those PWs, for now this one:

1.When I plug/unplug them from my computer for maintenance, do I just unplug it when Im done or do I have to do something like when we unplug an external HD (there's step to unplug it-> usb icon-> remove drive X-> safe to remove hardware-> unplug) ?

Thanks Guys...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Xang
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 31, 2010 02:02 |  #2

I always just pull mine out and they're fine...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ntc3
Member
48 posts
Joined May 2006
     
Mar 31, 2010 02:05 |  #3

I exit the PocketWizard Utility and then unplug them. Havent had any problems. But I wonder if there is an official method?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
markhyo
Senior Member
Avatar
554 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Newport News, Virginia
     
Mar 31, 2010 02:22 as a reply to  @ ntc3's post |  #4

According to PocketWizards on their website, you can just pull the cord out and you do not need to exit the utility before doing so. You can also plug them in with the units on or off. If you have them turn on when you plug them in and then start the utility, the battery life will be displayed.


Mark W EOS 70D, 60D, Canon 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon 40mm f/2.8, 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Sigma 8mm Fisheye, Pentax 55mm f/1.8 M42 (For Sale)
http://www.markwphoto.​com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/markwphoto/ (external link)
Check out our YouTube videos @ http://www.youtube.com​/user/markhyo?feature=​guide (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canondslr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Mar 31, 2010 03:28 |  #5

Thanks for the responds Guys.
I have 2 Flexs and 1 Mini, so to close the program before changing to another Flex or Mini is just a hassle, glad we dont have to do that.

markhyo:
where did you got the info ? i went to their website and didnt find it (im new to their website too).
and I cant get the battery level displayed.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canondslr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Mar 31, 2010 04:15 |  #6

another question:
2.when using Mini or Flex to trigger Plus II, what chanel we use on the Mini/Flex and what channel on the Plus II ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
markhyo
Senior Member
Avatar
554 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Newport News, Virginia
     
Mar 31, 2010 07:59 |  #7

canondslr wrote in post #9905071 (external link)
markhyo:
where did you got the info ? i went to their website and didnt find it (im new to their website too).
and I cant get the battery level displayed.

I found this on the tutorial page. In fact in order to replicate settings from one radio to another you have to leave the utility running and change to the next radio in order to program it. Take a look at this link.

http://www.pocketwizar​d.com …als/pocketwizar​d_utility/ (external link)

You can also read about the utility at Rob Galbraith's website at the bottom of the page on tips. http://www.robgalbrait​h.com …page.asp?cid=7-9991-10030 (external link)

As far as getting the battery meter to show you must have the PW turned on before you plug in the usb. If you turn it on after the usb is plugged in it won't work. If you're having trouble disconnect everything, shut the pw off a few second, turn it on for a few seconds and try it again.


Mark W EOS 70D, 60D, Canon 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon 40mm f/2.8, 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Sigma 8mm Fisheye, Pentax 55mm f/1.8 M42 (For Sale)
http://www.markwphoto.​com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/markwphoto/ (external link)
Check out our YouTube videos @ http://www.youtube.com​/user/markhyo?feature=​guide (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canondslr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Mar 31, 2010 10:37 |  #8

Hi Mark,
Thanks, I think I'll try again tonight.
And how about my question #2 ? I think I cant find te answer on the manual.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kwg105
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Mar 31, 2010 11:21 |  #9

How does setting ratios work with the pocket wizards? If I have a 580exii and a 430exii, how can I adjust the ratio?

I normally do that on the camera. But, the manual for 5.0 firmware says that in camera controls don't work on the 7D. Is that a a temporary situation? Or just a product of the PW solution?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canondslr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Mar 31, 2010 11:28 |  #10

kwg105:
Im sorry, Im not even there yet :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
markhyo
Senior Member
Avatar
554 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Newport News, Virginia
     
Mar 31, 2010 11:30 |  #11

canondslr wrote in post #9906660 (external link)
Hi Mark,
Thanks, I think I'll try again tonight.
And how about my question #2 ? I think I cant find te answer on the manual.

I believe the Pocket Plus 2 work on standard channels 1-4. Should be on page 22 in the user manual.


Mark W EOS 70D, 60D, Canon 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon 40mm f/2.8, 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Sigma 8mm Fisheye, Pentax 55mm f/1.8 M42 (For Sale)
http://www.markwphoto.​com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/markwphoto/ (external link)
Check out our YouTube videos @ http://www.youtube.com​/user/markhyo?feature=​guide (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
markhyo
Senior Member
Avatar
554 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Newport News, Virginia
     
Mar 31, 2010 11:39 |  #12

kwg105 wrote in post #9906953 (external link)
How does setting ratios work with the pocket wizards? If I have a 580exii and a 430exii, how can I adjust the ratio?

I normally do that on the camera. But, the manual for 5.0 firmware says that in camera controls don't work on the 7D. Is that a a temporary situation? Or just a product of the PW solution?

Mount the 580EXII on the tt1. Hold down the zoom button and rotate the will to turn on wireless master mode. Press set to lock it in. Then press the zoom button until ratio flashes. Rotate the wheel to turn it on and press set. You have options for group A:B or A:B:C. Once it's locked on. Press the set button until ratio flashes. Rotate the wheel to set your ratio level. The 580EXII will on the camera will always be in group A! If you don't want the on camera flash to fire press the zoom button multiple times until the icon of the flash starts blinking. This will disable the 580 from contributing to the exposure.

I don't know if PW will ever allow control through the camera menu but the Zone Controller should help out big time once it's release. At that point a 580 probably won't even be needed! I'm even considering selling mine once the zone controller is released.


Mark W EOS 70D, 60D, Canon 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon 40mm f/2.8, 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Sigma 8mm Fisheye, Pentax 55mm f/1.8 M42 (For Sale)
http://www.markwphoto.​com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/markwphoto/ (external link)
Check out our YouTube videos @ http://www.youtube.com​/user/markhyo?feature=​guide (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kwg105
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Mar 31, 2010 14:09 |  #13

markhyo wrote in post #9907073 (external link)
I don't know if PW will ever allow control through the camera menu but the Zone Controller should help out big time once it's release. At that point a 580 probably won't even be needed! I'm even considering selling mine once the zone controller is released.

Stupid question. But, looking at the Zone Controller.... I wouldn't be able to do your initial idea. (Of having the 580exii on the camera). Looks like there is no hotshoe on the top of the zone controller like there is in the mini.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
markhyo
Senior Member
Avatar
554 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Newport News, Virginia
     
Mar 31, 2010 14:13 |  #14

kwg105 wrote in post #9908063 (external link)
Stupid question. But, looking at the Zone Controller.... I wouldn't be able to do your initial idea. (Of having the 580exii on the camera). Looks like there is no hotshoe on the top of the zone controller like there is in the mini.

The Zone controller replaces the 580EX. Basically it would sit on top of the TT1 and control group A, B, or C. You will be able to control the different zone by ettl or manually. The 580 could be used as an extra flash on a TT5 or in my case would probably sit in my camera bag most of the time. :)


Mark W EOS 70D, 60D, Canon 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon 40mm f/2.8, 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Sigma 8mm Fisheye, Pentax 55mm f/1.8 M42 (For Sale)
http://www.markwphoto.​com (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/markwphoto/ (external link)
Check out our YouTube videos @ http://www.youtube.com​/user/markhyo?feature=​guide (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canondslr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: USA
     
Apr 05, 2010 16:49 |  #15

Another question is how are you Guys bring it in the bag ? Lets say if you have 2 Mini's and 3 Flexes. I thought about those fishing tackle box with adjustable compartment ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,313 views & 0 likes for this thread
New to PW Mini TT1 & Flex TT5
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is JuliusFilip
741 guests, 343 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.