Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 31 Mar 2010 (Wednesday) 04:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

batch change capture date & time

 
hania
Senior Member
919 posts
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Staffordshire, UK
     
Mar 31, 2010 04:47 |  #1

I got a new 7D to take to new zealand along with my 5D.

I forgot to set the camera time to be the same as on the 5D - so now I have photos taken from 1/3/10 (5d) and 1/7/10 (7d).

I have searched here for answers and tried to change capture time in Lightroom as suggested, but despite me selecting a range of photos in filmstrip, it only changed the capture time in the 1st photo- I dont want to have to do this for about 3000 !

There has to be a way!


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,482 posts
Likes: 199
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Mar 31, 2010 04:56 |  #2

ExifToolGUI
http://freeweb.siol.ne​t …foto/exif/exift​oolgui.htm (external link)


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hania
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
919 posts
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Staffordshire, UK
     
Mar 31, 2010 05:54 |  #3

many thanks - shall try this


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
obkcaptain
Member
Avatar
159 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Madrid (Spain)
     
Mar 31, 2010 06:18 |  #4

hania wrote in post #9905245 (external link)
I got a new 7D to take to new zealand along with my 5D.

I forgot to set the camera time to be the same as on the 5D - so now I have photos taken from 1/3/10 (5d) and 1/7/10 (7d).

I have searched here for answers and tried to change capture time in Lightroom as suggested, but despite me selecting a range of photos in filmstrip, it only changed the capture time in the 1st photo- I dont want to have to do this for about 3000 !

There has to be a way!

Doing it in Lightroom (2.5) is simply: mark all of them, entry into "Metadata" and set the offset + or - hours you want.


A Canon gear, some lenses, mono(tri)pod, flash and need to learn...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Mar 31, 2010 07:11 |  #5

You need to select the photos you want to change in Grid view, not the filmstrip.

Also, for the changes to be made permanent, you will also need to press the CTRL+S keystroke command to "Write metadata to file."

hania wrote in post #9905245 (external link)
I got a new 7D to take to new zealand along with my 5D.

I forgot to set the camera time to be the same as on the 5D - so now I have photos taken from 1/3/10 (5d) and 1/7/10 (7d).

I have searched here for answers and tried to change capture time in Lightroom as suggested, but despite me selecting a range of photos in filmstrip, it only changed the capture time in the 1st photo- I dont want to have to do this for about 3000 !

There has to be a way!


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MrWilliams
Member
89 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
     
Mar 31, 2010 08:39 |  #6

So can I do this in grid view prior to import and have them imported with the correct date?

thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hania
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
919 posts
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Staffordshire, UK
     
Mar 31, 2010 10:01 |  #7

PixelMagic wrote in post #9905631 (external link)
You need to select the photos you want to change in Grid view, not the filmstrip.

Also, for the changes to be made permanent, you will also need to press the CTRL+S keystroke command to "Write metadata to file."

Brilliant - worked fine - many thanks


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,922 views & 0 likes for this thread
batch change capture date & time
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is voidholder
1020 guests, 346 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.