Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 31 Mar 2010 (Wednesday) 23:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Getting started with the TS-E (24mm Mk1 vs Mk2)

Lightstream
Yoda
14,915 posts
Joined Feb 2006

Mar 31, 2010 23:32 |  #1

I'm thinking of venturing into TS-E territory for the first time ever. I clearly appreciate what shift can do for me and my converging verticals as well as panos, but tilt, well I guess I will just play with it.

The question is, since I'm just starting out, is the old 24 TS-E a wiser decision since I can obtain one at much less compared to the new Mk2? Or is it so soft that it isn't even worth owning at that price? I'm shooting on the 5DMk2.

sponsored links
breal101
Goldmember
2,724 posts
Joined Aug 2006

Apr 01, 2010 08:24 |  #2

I've been shooting commercial work with the old version for almost 4 years and never had a client complain about softness. I'll be the first to admit that it isn't tack sharp but it isn't what I would call soft. It suffers a bit from CA too but nobody has complained about that either. It would depend on how much of a sharpness junkie you are, if you can't stand the thought that there is something better than by all means get version 2. For me the economy says I'll be sticking with version 1 for now.

"Try to go out empty and let your images fill you up." Jay Maisel

zincozinco
-Followers of Fidget-
4,420 posts
Joined Oct 2007

Apr 01, 2010 09:11 |  #3

http://golfshots.shutt​rr.com …-back-into-golf-in-spain/ (external link)