Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Apr 2010 (Tuesday) 18:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Why do DSLR's have a 4GB limit on video file ?

 
wolf2009
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Feb 2009
     
Apr 13, 2010 18:52 |  #1

As the questions says, is this due to FAT formatting of the SDHC card ?

Anyway to overcome this ?

Is this normally a problem when shooting video ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Lyndön
Goldmember
2,262 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 220
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
     
Apr 13, 2010 18:54 |  #2

It has to do with the file system. 4GB is the max a FAT32 file system can deal with. Its the same for the PS3 as well, which sucks.


GEAR LIST

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
18,871 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Apr 13, 2010 19:04 |  #3

As Josh said, the cards are formated in FAT32 which ash a max file size of 4GB. Not really an issue, I have never seen a single segment of video last more than a couple minutes in most movies/tv shows. Think a bout it, a TV show is, what, 20 minutes (30 min - commercials, intro, ending, etc). How many scenes are there in a single TV episode? like hundreds, they change perspective all the time. Not really a huge issue.

As to answer your other question, I am not sure how to get around it. When a DSLR is shooting video in EOS Utility, does it save directly to the hard drive? That would solve the problem :p


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​com (external link) | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scpictaker
Goldmember
Avatar
1,385 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Edgerton Wis
     
Apr 13, 2010 21:01 |  #4

Sensors are said to overheat too!


My Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII l 7D MKII l 24-105L l 16-35 L II l Sigma 50 1.4 ART l 70-200 2.8 L II l 24-70L l EOS M l 2X III l Rok 14mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ImRaptor
Goldmember
Avatar
1,448 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Humboldt, SK Canada
     
Apr 13, 2010 21:08 |  #5

This does bring to question on wondering how much longer companies will continue to use FAT32 as their primary tabling system. My first thought would be to move onto FAT64, but I don't know how the patent issues would come into play in terms of compatibility and licensing costs.


http://imraptor.devian​tart.com/ (external link)
Why yes, I am a jerk. Thank you for asking.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bannor
Member
93 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Bucharest, Romania
     
Apr 14, 2010 05:53 |  #6

Umm, to my knowledge, there is no FAT64. Your options are basically exFAT or NTFS. As to your question - probably as long as we consumers buy it, they will continue to manufacture & sell it.


Bannor

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
algold
Senior Member
538 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Israel
     
Apr 14, 2010 06:10 |  #7

this is due to limitations of the FAT32 file system, where your max partition size is 32 GB and the max file size is 1 byte less than 4GB :(


100D, 40D, 10-18 IS STM, 18-135 IS STM, Sigma 30/1.4, 40/2.8 STM, 60/2.8 macro, MP-E 65/2.8, 85/1.8, 70-200/4 L, 270EX, 430EX, MR-14ex, Metz 58 AF-1
EOS-M3 22/2, 18-55 is stm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SR071
Senior Member
276 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
     
Apr 14, 2010 06:57 |  #8

It's because Nikon haven't gone higher either...when they do, Canon will increase it as well, and charge you more. :)


Matt *20D YAY! My first *real* digital camera. 5DIII 1Dx and 1Dx and 1DIV And all the heavy glass...Plus a flash or seven... :)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hotsecretary
Member
Avatar
157 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
     
Apr 14, 2010 07:59 as a reply to  @ SR071's post |  #9

My guess is it also has to do with NTFS licensing ... it's probably a pretty penny to get MS to open their doors to ensure you have no issues with the new format :)


5D III | EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | 580EX II | Gear | Blog (external link) | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ImRaptor
Goldmember
Avatar
1,448 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Humboldt, SK Canada
     
Apr 14, 2010 09:07 |  #10

Bannor wrote in post #9992199 (external link)
Umm, to my knowledge, there is no FAT64. Your options are basically exFAT or NTFS. As to your question - probably as long as we consumers buy it, they will continue to manufacture & sell it.

exFAT is nick'd as FAT64. So you did know of it, I just didn't use the proper name for it.
:D


http://imraptor.devian​tart.com/ (external link)
Why yes, I am a jerk. Thank you for asking.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hpulley
Goldmember
4,390 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Apr 14, 2010 09:29 |  #11

Sadly my T1i usually overheats before I can fill a 4GB image... it starts flashing the warning icon and eventually it stops. Happens often indoors in warm sports gyms. Best to put it on a tripod so your own body heat doesn't add to it while holding the camera.


flickr (external link) 1DIIN 40D 1NRS 650 1.4xII EF12II Pel8 50f1.8I 28-80II 17-40L 24-70L 100-400L 177A 199A OC-E3 RS-80N3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
13,622 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 875
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Apr 14, 2010 09:42 as a reply to  @ hpulley's post |  #12

Not really an issue, I have never seen a single segment of video last more than a couple minutes in most movies/tv shows.

Very true. Even two minutes is pretty darned long--the director would have planned the take extensively for that to happen. A five-minute take would create comments from reviewers as a directorial "tour de force." Most takes in a professional produce are no more than a few seconds.


TANSTAAFL--The Only Unbreakable Rule in Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joe445
Senior Member
Avatar
541 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
     
Apr 14, 2010 09:51 |  #13

If I were to use a 8gb cf card for video on my 5d mark II would it stop recording after 4gb?


Canon 5D Mark II w/BG-E6 grip--CanonEF 24-105mm f4 L IS-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hpulley
Goldmember
4,390 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Apr 14, 2010 09:59 |  #14

joe445 wrote in post #9993082 (external link)
If I were to use a 8gb cf card for video on my 5d mark II would it stop recording after 4gb?

Yep.


flickr (external link) 1DIIN 40D 1NRS 650 1.4xII EF12II Pel8 50f1.8I 28-80II 17-40L 24-70L 100-400L 177A 199A OC-E3 RS-80N3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 226
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Apr 14, 2010 10:24 |  #15

algold wrote in post #9992244 (external link)
this is due to limitations of the FAT32 file system, where your max partition size is 32 GB and the max file size is 1 byte less than 4GB :(

Actually, the partition size limit for FAT32 is 2TB; Win2K and XP have a 32 GB limit because Microsoft decided to place this limit on them so you'd use NTFS for large volumes. Win98 could format to just under 128 GB. WinMe can format volumes up to 2 TB (theoretically up to 8 TB).


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

31,978 views & 0 likes for this thread
Why do DSLR's have a 4GB limit on video file ?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Eila
729 guests, 182 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.