Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 14 Apr 2010 (Wednesday) 21:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Firmware Update Version 1.2.1

 
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1069
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Apr 23, 2010 13:04 |  #226

I've just made before and after tests. I will post images shortly...


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1069
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Apr 23, 2010 13:27 |  #227

Well, not sure if it's worth posting them, but here is my conclusion. All my after firmware update shots were exposed a tiny bit brighter than the before shots. (I deliberately used AV mode and not manual to find out if the automatic exposure changed or not). Hence a tiny bit less noise in the shadows. However, my test may be flawed because the light coming through the window might have changed a bit between the two tests. No direct light, only a nice diffuse light, so I don't know how much that would matter. But the fact is, all my shots were exposed a bit brighter compared to their before firmware counterparts. I don't see much difference in the character of the noise or the maze pattern at 200-300% level.
By the way that maze pattern does not show up in RAW images opened in CS4. But I've seen that in DPP even with my 50D and 40D before, it must be a DPP flaw. But since it's not really problem, I don't care :)


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
39,493 posts
Gallery: 116 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 7937
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Apr 23, 2010 16:36 |  #228

So maybe there is indeed a change with the metering that goes a bit more to the right than before? Like I said, it is subtle. Yes I see the maze patterns too in my images still at 200-300%. Maybe I have to look into ACR or something else.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Avatar
7,359 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 88
Joined Jan 2007
Location: DFW Metro-mess, Texas
     
Apr 23, 2010 21:47 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #229

.... And, I forgot to mention, when you get tired of them, alligators taste a whole lot like chicken.:)

FWIW, sensors do not change their behavior when the camera dials are used to change the ISO. They do not become more sensitive to light with a higher ISO nor develop more charge in the capacitor at each photodiode. The thing that does change with ISO is the gain when the charge is converted to an analog voltage. Some have said that for some ISO values, the gain change is done by bit shifting the digitized value-- that may be so, but Canon does not share it's trade secrets.

Also, ugly_a is correct, I am an engineer (electrical).


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
foghorn
Senior Member
Avatar
329 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Fullerton, CA
     
Apr 23, 2010 22:08 |  #230

I just bought a 7D today. Was going to look for the DL on this, and I went to double check the firmware version on it...and it's already on there. /shock.
When did they start shipping with it?


Canon 7D & 40D | 17-55 2.8 IS | 28 1.8 | 85 1.8 | 50mm 1.8 | 70-200mm 2.8L IS | 580EX II, 430EX |
http://www.flashandsho​w.wordpress.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rai33
Goldmember
Avatar
1,838 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Sydney
     
Apr 23, 2010 22:55 |  #231

gabebalazs wrote in post #10052089 (external link)
By the way that maze pattern does not show up in RAW images opened in CS4. But I've seen that in DPP even with my 50D and 40D before, it must be a DPP flaw. But since it's not really problem, I don't care :)

Maize pattern from RAW images out of DPP? The only time I see this is when there has been sharpening applied (I never sharpen there as it has some pathetic algorithm... i first noticed it way back when because I zoom to stupid levels when doing skin-retouching... was patterns and crap everywhere so much so that i thought there was something wrong with my camera). Try put sharpening to zero in DPP for your RAW's and see if that resolves your issue.


Portfolio - Fashion/Beauty (external link)
Portfolio - Kids (external link)
Model Mayhem (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1069
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Apr 23, 2010 23:25 |  #232

Rai33 wrote in post #10054925 (external link)
Maize pattern from RAW images out of DPP? The only time I see this is when there has been sharpening applied (I never sharpen there as it has some pathetic algorithm... i first noticed it way back when because I zoom to stupid levels when doing skin-retouching... was patterns and crap everywhere so much so that i thought there was something wrong with my camera). Try put sharpening to zero in DPP for your RAW's and see if that resolves your issue.

Yes, I've found that too. Sharpening algorhythms in DPP are not good I agree. But like I said it's not really an issue, only see it at more than 100% level.
But I'll try your advice. I'm still awed by your awesome studio portraits by the way :)


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
va_rider
Goldmember
Avatar
2,378 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Staunton, VA
     
May 01, 2010 07:33 |  #233

I made the upgrade... didn't notice any real difference...

just adding to the list...


Canon 5dmkIII, Sigma 15mm f/2.8FE; 35mm f/1.4; Canon EF70-200 f/2.8L IS II; --- YN560 x 7
I'm not a professional photographer, and I don't want to be.
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wask_
Senior Member
Avatar
297 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
May 25, 2010 08:46 as a reply to  @ gabebalazs's post |  #234

Dunno where to post so i'm just gonna post here.

I haven't updated from 1.1.0 yet so I have 2 questions:

-Is it realy worth it ?

-Can I update straight from 1.1.0 to 1.2.1 (I guess not so where do i find previous firmware) ?

thank you


- 7D -
Σ 30 f/1.4 | 50 f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
"spouting off stupid things"
Avatar
56,416 posts
Likes: 3076
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
May 25, 2010 08:54 |  #235

wask_ wrote in post #10242159 (external link)
-Is it realy worth it ?

-Can I update straight from 1.1.0 to 1.2.1 (I guess not so where do i find previous firmware) ?

Q1 = It depends. If your plagued by one of the things fixed, then it is well worth if. If your worried that you might be plagues by one of the issue, it's worth it as well. If everything is perfect, then not so much so.

Q2 = Yes.


http://web.canon.jp …irm-e/eos7d/firmware.html (external link)


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
39,493 posts
Gallery: 116 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 7937
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
May 25, 2010 11:19 |  #236

They never released 1.2.0, your only option is to move to 1.2.1. There are no known detriment to upgrading, so I would suggest doing it.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ecub
Goldmember
1,487 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Southwest suburbs of Chicago
     
Jun 01, 2010 09:59 |  #237

foghorn wrote in post #10054710 (external link)
I just bought a 7D today. Was going to look for the DL on this, and I went to double check the firmware version on it...and it's already on there. /shock.
When did they start shipping with it?

Got mine last week and it had the latest firmware as well. I already downloaded v1.2.1 while waiting for my 7D to come in. Then when I got it, I looked at the firmware and was surprised it already had it.


- Ed
Official Gear List
5D II | 7D | 16-35mm f/2.8L II | 24-70mm f/2.8L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L | 50mm f/1.2L USM | 85mm f/1.2L II | 100mm f/2.8L IS macro

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NYCreate
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jun 2010
     
Jun 05, 2010 10:02 |  #238

Hi guys...
not read the whole 16 pages but hoping someone can give me a quickish answer... got 7D and it had 1.2.1 firmware and had to return it because images where V poor, low ISO noice was way worse than my 40D and it had bad vertical banding at low ISO's. New 7D is firmware 1.1.0 and image quality is awesome in comparison..
My concern is, if i upgrade to 1.2.1 on the new camera, am I likely to get the poor noise and banding problems back? and if so how do I revert if canon says this can't be done?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
39,493 posts
Gallery: 116 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 7937
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jun 05, 2010 10:05 |  #239

NYCreate wrote in post #10307053 (external link)
Hi guys...
not read the whole 16 pages but hoping someone can give me a quickish answer... got 7D and it had 1.2.1 firmware and had to return it because images where V poor, low ISO noice was way worse than my 40D and it had bad vertical banding at low ISO's. New 7D is firmware 1.1.0 and image quality is awesome in comparison..
My concern is, if i upgrade to 1.2.1 on the new camera, am I likely to get the poor noise and banding problems back? and if so how do I revert if canon says this can't be done?

vs 1.2.1 hasn't seem to have caused any issues with anyone at this point, I think you are safe to upgrade. There IS NO way to revert, the camera won't let you.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NYCreate
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jun 2010
     
Jun 05, 2010 12:52 |  #240

Is updating now, then going out for a shoot..




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

51,206 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Firmware Update Version 1.2.1
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Steve_m
366 guests, 272 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.