Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 14 Apr 2010 (Wednesday) 21:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Firmware Update Version 1.2.1

 
binlerne
Senior Member
Avatar
870 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
     
Apr 15, 2010 13:43 |  #46

aboss3 wrote in post #10000617 (external link)
LOL this reminds me of Microsoft update: 1st they release an update that is supposed to fix something but actually brakes 2nd they release an update to update to fix the code that's broken 3rd they fix everything with the Service Pack.
Seriously, if everything is working, why upgrade the firmware?

Because they get complaints for certain attributes of the camera that they can actually do something about, so why not?

For example, I remember when this camera came out a number of people complained about the Auto ISO going too high, especially when shooting in good light outdoors. It would seem this firmware addresses that issue.

Even with the 5DII enough people asked for a firmware update to "fix" the video and Canon obliged. I didn't think that they had to do that as people bought the camera as it was.

Hiccups are part of technology, no company is going to get every piece of software 100% right every time.


My Website (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
lowrider
Senior Member
Avatar
805 posts
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Tucson
     
Apr 15, 2010 16:35 as a reply to  @ binlerne's post |  #47

Updated mine:razz:

Lou




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
firomero
Member
81 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Venezuela
     
Apr 15, 2010 16:47 |  #48

done with mine too.....it seems still alive


Canon 7D canon 28-135 - 50mm 1.8 -tamron 17-50vc and 70-300vc and speedlite 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Iceaero
Member
Avatar
86 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 38
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Boston, MA
     
Apr 15, 2010 17:17 |  #49

Quick question!

Must I use a clean CF card to update? (instructions say to format, copy, update, then format again)

But I assume that nothing bad will happen if I just put the firmware on the card, update, and then delete it myself afterwards?


Canon 5D Mark IV | 16-35mm f/4L | 85mm f/1.4L | 100-400L II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
int2str
Goldmember
1,881 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Fremont, CA
     
Apr 15, 2010 17:18 |  #50

Iceaero wrote in post #10002491 (external link)
Quick question!

Must I use a clean CF card to update? (instructions say to format, copy, update, then format again)

But I assume that nothing bad will happen if I just put the firmware on the card, update, and then delete it myself afterwards?

No. It works just fine without formatting.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TBath
Member
113 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: South Jordan, Utah
     
Apr 15, 2010 18:04 |  #51

I have updated to the new firmware without any trouble. Camera seems to be working fine. I'm going out to test it some more.


7D Gripped
EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM|EF 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS USM|EF 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS USM|EF 50 f/1.8 II|430 EX II x 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
racketman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
21,129 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 989
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Richmond Surrey
     
Apr 15, 2010 19:28 |  #52

gdl357 wrote in post #9998456 (external link)
Your probably not in the same ISO settings as you were before. The qty of pics change with ISO chosen.

my 8GB
at ISO100 = 303 pics RAW
at ISO400 = 295
at ISO800 = 287
at ISO1600 = 279
at ISO3200 = 269
at ISO6400 = 251
at ISO12800 H = 232

same figures I get - never noticed difference with ISO setting before.


Toby
Canon 5D MKIV & 90D
Olympus EM-1 MKII
Flickr collections (external link)
Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Invertalon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,495 posts
Likes: 22
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
     
Apr 15, 2010 20:00 |  #53

Updated... No issues.


-Steve
Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ajikan
Member
131 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Stockton, CA
     
Apr 15, 2010 20:35 |  #54

Updated, no issues here either.


Chris - my Flickr (external link) - Heatware (external link)
6D x 2 | 50L | 24-70L | 135L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,964 posts
Gallery: 226 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 625
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Connecticut USA
     
Apr 15, 2010 21:39 as a reply to  @ Ajikan's post |  #55

Updated and so far everything looks OK!


_______________
flickr (external link)
GEAR

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
IngoEOS7D
Member
Avatar
77 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
     
Apr 15, 2010 21:51 as a reply to  @ butterfly2937's post |  #56

Just updated a little bit ago...so far so good. Not noticing the supposed fixes though. And it may be just in my head from reading the post about it unofficially fixing focus issues but it does seemed to have cleaned it up...again though, probably in my head.


Sam Ingesoulian
www.five22photography.​com (external link)
www.facebook.com/five2​2photography (external link)

Canon 6D, 7D Gripped, Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, Sigma 17-50 2.8 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 2.8 II EX APO DG HSM, Tokina ATX Pro 12-24 II, Canon 28-135 IS USM, Canon 50 1.8 Mk II, 430EX II SPEEDLITE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
trophy_23
Senior Member
360 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
     
Apr 15, 2010 22:21 |  #57

Just did mine and everything seems good so far!


Trophy_23 ~ Gear List & Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,427 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6099
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Apr 15, 2010 23:13 |  #58

Mocows wrote in post #9999947 (external link)
I doubt anything would change as they don't have the required chip in it, if it's not broken don't fix it. But I would be interested if they did change that piece of functionality (as I don't enjoy the blank battery icon haha).

No difference in behavior with 3rd party batteries from what I can tell. Same error message when you insert that battery, and no display indication of battery level.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Apr 15, 2010 23:19 |  #59

Tsmith wrote in post #9997261 (external link)
Yeah you just re-flash using the older firmware.

Nope....

Direct from Canon:

Note that cameras with firmware Version 1.2.1 and 1.2.0 cannot be downgraded to a previous firmware version (such as Version 1.1.0).

WTF, the 7D Downloads page at Canon USA still only show 1.1.0!

Had to do a search for "7D firmware update" to find a "service notice" with a link to 1.2.1.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,427 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6099
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Apr 15, 2010 23:51 |  #60

Now as I test, I haven't noticed anything AF wise, however, for whatever reason, it seems like the ISO noise is better in the camera jpg files? I have my levels set to "disabled", which is the lowest setting (not really off, I know).

However my 12800 shots seem better, and my ISO 100 shots are very creamy, where usually in shadows I would get a bit of noise. I think I need to go to bed, I cannot see how Canon did anything related to noise with this latest firmware, and I think I am seeing things. I will try again in the AM.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

46,312 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Firmware Update Version 1.2.1
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Curlicue
900 guests, 291 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.