Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Birds 
Thread started 25 Apr 2010 (Sunday) 23:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sage Grouse Lek

popeshawnpaul
104 posts
Joined Aug 2009

Apr 25, 2010 23:55 |  #1

I don't post here much but thought this experience could be appreciated by some birding folks.

I spent the night last Wednesday in a sage grouse blind and lek thanks to my good friend and member on this site, Tom Reichner. It was one of the most memeorable experiences I've ever had in the wild.

I started out getting out of court early that day. (I'm a lawyer) I had a client walk into court late that wanted a warrant quashed but I just ran out and told him to handle it himself. Why was I in such a rush? The birds come into the lek or breeding area around 8pm and I had a 3 hour drive ahead of me. I drove like the wind and got to the lek around 7pm. I met Tom and he helped me get situated in the blind. It was still light out, and I was wondering why I was hiding in this blind/tent before dark but I soon heard the reason why. At about 8:30pm a sage grouse flew in by the tent. That was the only one I heard fly in. I tried to sleep but couldn't that night. It was eerily quiet and there were coyotes howling all around. I was miles from anywhere in a remote sage brush and wheat field off the road. Tom warned me the grouse would be all around, so be quiet in the night. Peeing in a coffee can and trying to be quiet was a chore, but I got it accomplished.