Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 11 May 2010 (Tuesday) 13:42
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

T2i blows my 40D out of the water....

dpbdc
72 posts
Joined Jun 2008

May 11, 2010 13:42 |  #1

So my friend and I were out camping in the desert (Anza Borrego) this past weekend and we were shooting a bit.

He had just picked up the new T2i and is a complete novice. I have had my 40D for almost a couple years and have only been shooting that long, but I feel I have a good understanding of what I am doing.

We were both shooting our Canon 10-22 lenses at night, getting some long bulb exposures of starfields and such.

Here's the thing. All his shots at the same settings blew mine away. Better color, better contrast, sharper. I just had my sensor cleaned, so I know that has nothing to do with it. I think my 10-22 might be off, I need to do a focus test this week. But damn. I didn't expect that big of a difference. Almost everything I shot was fuzzy. THe shots that turned out just didn't seem as nice. And to top it off, on a 20-30 min bulb exposure to get good star motion, his processed in 10 seconds. Mine was working for almost 20 MINUTES.

Obviously, I need to get my camera looked at, it has 9000 actuations. I will definitely be checking my lenses. But that 7D is starting to look really good.....

That 7D is looking better and better....

sponsored links
Overread
Goldmember
2,198 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Joined Mar 2010

May 11, 2010 13:47 |  #2