Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 22 Jun 2010 (Tuesday) 17:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Drowning in data; what to do with it all?

 
dwarfcow
Senior Member
Avatar
640 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: South Central, Alaska
     
Jun 22, 2010 17:12 |  #1

Hokkay, So.

I think i'm at my whits end with our current external drives; they are western digital "my books" and are 1TB each; i have had nothing but problems with the one that i use; my wife doesn't have any real complains with her's, basically mine freezes randomly, and has to be restarted or allowed to sit for an hour or more. It supports firewire, usb 2, and eSata.

it is ungodly slow (i don't know if it just got that way, or always was) with firewire and usb 2.0 (firewire performs a little better, but i think its only supporting firewire 400. and i have not been able for the life of me to get the eSata to work (rated at 3gbits/sec). The motherboard recognizes the drive on eSata, but i can't get windows to acknowledge its existence; either in explorer or in disk manager.

So; i have been trying to get the 980gb of data (files, images, crap, more crap, and probably 2-3 duplicates of each unique file) off the drive, so i can return the pile to Costco; I would like to switch to a new platform all together, but their current offerings are all seagate externals. I have had problems with seagate large format drives in the past (internal) so I'm not sure what to do; or, for that matter what the best way to comb through the mountains of data i have that most of which is useless.

accessing external drives is painfully slow regardless of what method you use (and the new seagates only support usb 2.0) so ... what should i do? i'm planning on driving into town and picking up 3 of their 1.5TB drives, and getting rid of this junk...

/rant

anyone else go through this yet?


"Evidently the photo shop at the college I go to is one of the best in the country. They actually have a handful of digital medium format cameras for students to use; Haliburtons, or hasslehoffs, or something like that."
-name withheld to protect dignity.
Toys

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
eigga
Goldmember
Avatar
2,208 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
     
Jun 22, 2010 20:29 |  #2

I keep everything I am using on my computers hard drive and thus it is faster. The external are simply there as backup. One backup (seagate) is setup to backup my computer automatically each night. Another I backup myself weekly and in a safe. That is for all my current files.

My archived files are kept on duplicate externals in the safe. I only keep .jpegs for archived files and not at full quality.


-Matt
Website (external link)
Facebook (external link)
Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gym ­ Star ­ Photos
Member
Avatar
138 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
     
Jun 22, 2010 21:38 |  #3

Is it possible you have the drive too full? I never use more than 80% of the drives space. I only had one drive that I thought was slow compared to my other drives (it was an internal) but I looked at the specs later and realized it WAS slower... Otherwise never had an issue with drives of any type of interface.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ameerat42
Senior Member
588 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Au.
     
Jun 22, 2010 21:43 |  #4

Nup. Sorry. Have had 3 WDs. My Book and two Elements. None has ever missed a beat. Only USB 2 and FW400, and a bit slower than internal WD but OK. Am.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
super65
Member
Avatar
54 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Jun 22, 2010 21:51 |  #5

I have a iomega prestige 1.5TB that works pretty well; I can move about 32 megabytes/second with it -- maybe a change in brands? Although I'm not sure who the manufacturer of the hard disk itself is.


Canon 40D, EF 85mm f/1.8, Sigma 30mm f/1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AdamC
Goldmember
Avatar
3,719 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: newcastle.nsw.au
     
Jun 22, 2010 21:55 as a reply to  @ super65's post |  #6

I work off my local hard drive, and copy out to an external drive as primary backup. Unit is an Astone (possibly Australian brand?) eSATA-connected with a WD drive in it, and it's never missed a beat.

Maybe you just got a bad unit?


[gallery (external link)|gear|flickr (external link)|blog (external link)]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AZAlphaDog
Goldmember
Avatar
1,750 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Southwest
     
Jun 23, 2010 00:26 |  #7

dwarfcow wrote in post #10408810 (external link)
Hokkay, So.

I think i'm at my whits end with our current external drives; they are western digital "my books" and are 1TB each; i have had nothing but problems with the one that i use; my wife doesn't have any real complains with her's, basically mine freezes randomly, and has to be restarted or allowed to sit for an hour or more. It supports firewire, usb 2, and eSata.

it is ungodly slow (i don't know if it just got that way, or always was) with firewire and usb 2.0 (firewire performs a little better, but i think its only supporting firewire 400. and i have not been able for the life of me to get the eSata to work (rated at 3gbits/sec). The motherboard recognizes the drive on eSata, but i can't get windows to acknowledge its existence; either in explorer or in disk manager.

So; i have been trying to get the 980gb of data (files, images, crap, more crap, and probably 2-3 duplicates of each unique file) off the drive, so i can return the pile to Costco; I would like to switch to a new platform all together, but their current offerings are all seagate externals. I have had problems with seagate large format drives in the past (internal) so I'm not sure what to do; or, for that matter what the best way to comb through the mountains of data i have that most of which is useless.

accessing external drives is painfully slow regardless of what method you use (and the new seagates only support usb 2.0) so ... what should i do? i'm planning on driving into town and picking up 3 of their 1.5TB drives, and getting rid of this junk...

/rant

anyone else go through this yet?

Wait, I think I see your problem!

well, that and you need a few of these mounted internally;


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


DOUG JAMES | PHOTO PRODUCTIONS (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
18,871 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Jun 23, 2010 00:33 |  #8

Some external drives will power down when not used hence the apparent "freezing". It is a power saving feature. If you find the power saving feature annoying, you might want to try getting a enclosure and just buying internal drives.


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​com (external link) | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WMS
"Escargot on the Hoof"
Avatar
2,886 posts
Joined Nov 2006
     
Jun 23, 2010 00:45 |  #9

Have you considered getting a 'toaster" and using internal drives. http://www.tigerdirect​.com …tegory_slc.asp?​CatId=2785 (external link)

Wayne


I'm just a simple maker of love charms and tokens,who occasionally takes a picture or two.
Gear list: more toys than I need, Fewer than I want.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
torvaterra
Senior Member
Avatar
588 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Jan 2009
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 23, 2010 00:51 |  #10

I use the Seagate Xtreme Freeagent drives and Ive never had a problem. Have you tried defragmenting the drives?


www.torvaterra.com (external link)
http://torvaterra.zenf​olio.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dwarfcow
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
640 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: South Central, Alaska
     
Jun 23, 2010 01:23 |  #11

torvaterra wrote in post #10410966 (external link)
I use the Seagate Xtreme Freeagent drives and Ive never had a problem. Have you tried defragmenting the drives?

they are indexed ntfs, defragmenting isn't possible. i called WD, and they said to just return the drives; get new ones...

i just picked up 3 of the seagate free agent 1.5TB's now i'm just gonna have to come up with a logical system for storing and archiving..

just getting started:

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i32.photobucket​.com …d24/akkell85/IM​G_0217.jpg (external link)


edit: friend of mine just pointed out... out that window; that's what i gotta deal with all night, this picture was taken 3 minutes ago. it wont get any darker.

"Evidently the photo shop at the college I go to is one of the best in the country. They actually have a handful of digital medium format cameras for students to use; Haliburtons, or hasslehoffs, or something like that."
-name withheld to protect dignity.
Toys

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
18,871 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Jun 23, 2010 01:43 |  #12

Lol, saves on the energy bills I am sure =)


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​com (external link) | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,586 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Jun 23, 2010 01:49 |  #13

themadman wrote in post #10411123 (external link)
Lol, saves on the energy bills I am sure =)

I'm guessing the heat bills in the winter more than make up for it! :shock:


As for the initial question, you may consider a shared/networking RAID system. There are some very simple and powerful ones available. At work we use the IOmega Storcenter ix2-400 units for some smaller workgroups and they are great. Easy to setup, fast, redundant, 3 year warranty, built in networking and file sharing, includes backup software, etc.

Here's the link to the product:
http://go.iomega.com …ve-ix4-200d/?partner=4760 (external link)


There are many similar setups, but I can vouch for the Iomega.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
EOS Rp | iPhone 11 Pro Max

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dwarfcow
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
640 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: South Central, Alaska
     
Jun 23, 2010 01:50 |  #14

themadman wrote in post #10411123 (external link)
Lol, saves on the energy bills I am sure =)

psh, only 2 of the 5 in the picture are on....

sadly, in the processes of "gittn r done" the damn seagate is doing the same stupid antics.. there is obviously something wrong with the computer's OS. but i'm running the same OS as the wife on her laptop, and she has no problems... and it happens on firewire AND usb; so i can rule out simply usb drivers etc...

On a side note, if i unplug any external, there is a good chance when i plug it back in, it wont populate in my computer until i re-assign a drive letter to it in disk manager (admin tools) which is annoying as all getup.


"Evidently the photo shop at the college I go to is one of the best in the country. They actually have a handful of digital medium format cameras for students to use; Haliburtons, or hasslehoffs, or something like that."
-name withheld to protect dignity.
Toys

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Flores
Goldmember
1,179 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2010
Location: TEXAS
     
Jun 23, 2010 02:12 |  #15

I'm going to chime in with a vote that you look into some kind of network based storage.

if your brave, you can build it yourself, but I'm not familiar with your level of expertise.

for under $1000 you should be able to put something together with a few T of storage, in a RAID configuration (faster, because you have multiple read/write heads on the virtual 'drive', bigger storage space, and usually can be configd so that if a drive fails, you lose no data), a gig-e interface to your network, and no more messing about with plugs again.

of course, this type of system will give you other issues.

is there any particular reason your going with externals in the first place?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,210 views & 0 likes for this thread
Drowning in data; what to do with it all?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Flo29
902 guests, 259 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.