Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 09 Jul 2010 (Friday) 18:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Where to buy PC connector to plug into camera?

 
professorman
Goldmember
Avatar
1,661 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2009
Location: VA
     
Jul 09, 2010 18:13 |  #1

I am looking for PC connector to plug into my camera to make a home made sync cable with my strobes.

Where can I find them locally? What stores would sell this connector? I went to radio shack, but I didnt find any. Do they go by any other name?


MyGear | Feedback | facebook (external link)|My Site (external link)|Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,419 posts
Likes: 1555
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jul 09, 2010 18:34 |  #2

Get the cables from flashzebra. Why make them.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Jul 09, 2010 18:49 |  #3

professorman wrote in post #10508042 (external link)
I am looking for PC connector to plug into my camera to make a home made sync cable with my strobes.

Where can I find them locally? What stores would sell this connector? I went to radio shack, but I didnt find any. Do they go by any other name?

there are gazillions on ebay - do a search for "Hot Shoe PC Sync Adapter"




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Player9
Senior Member
658 posts
Joined Mar 2007
     
Jul 09, 2010 18:52 |  #4

Save the $10-15 price of a hot shoe adapter and put it toward the purchase of a set of Cybersyncs. My $.02.


60D, EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5, EF-S 18-135mm 3.5-5.6 IS, EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS, Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, EF 28mm f/1.8, EF 50mm f/1.8, EF-S 60mm f/2.8 macro, EF 85mm f/1.8, 430ex, 220ex, Alien Bee B400 (2), Alien Bee B800 (2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Jul 09, 2010 19:00 |  #5

Player9 wrote in post #10508208 (external link)
Save the $10-15 price of a hot shoe adapter and put it toward the purchase of a set of Cybersyncs. My $.02.

yes, you're probably right. In the beginning I got the $10 sync cord because the other options were expensive but now it's only $28 for the Yongnuo RF-602 - get something like that and not fool around with cords




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
professorman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,661 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2009
Location: VA
     
Jul 09, 2010 21:29 |  #6

I have yongnuo transmitters but for stuff that I just want to flash my strobes real quick, its too much work to setup all my connectors. I leave my strobes connected. I want a wire that I just take and plug into my camera and fire away. Right now, I have to put the flash on my camera and use the optical sensor, but I would much rather plug in a sync cord than connect my flash every time. I have a power pack and heads type strobes, not monolights, so one cable is good for me.

$10 cables are expensive. I see $2 cables on ebay, but then they come from hong kong and I have to wait forever. I wanted to find them locally so I can connect them to my strobes this weekend. My strobes use H-connector, household plug, so I use extension cords to get them longer. I just want the connector tips that I can connect my own wire to.


MyGear | Feedback | facebook (external link)|My Site (external link)|Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FreezeFramePhto
Goldmember
1,130 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 15
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
     
Jul 09, 2010 22:21 |  #7

Even setting up like that you will still turn your strobes on right? So wouldnt it just be easier to go wireless anyway? When you turn the strobe on your turn the receiver on too?. And just leave the transmitter on the camera. Or take the 3 secs it take to put it on.


www.freezeframe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
professorman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,661 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2009
Location: VA
     
Jul 10, 2010 02:38 |  #8

My strobes has a different connector than the jacks. I leave my wireless triggers in my bag for when I go on location. I dont like how much connecting and disconnecting is required with the wireless, that is why I want to leave the strobes at home connected, and the wireless setup for portability. If I get the PC connector, then its just one wire to connect to get it to flash.


MyGear | Feedback | facebook (external link)|My Site (external link)|Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SwitchBlade
Goldmember
Avatar
2,748 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: The Garden of England
     
Jul 10, 2010 07:13 |  #9

I struggled to find any of the PC connectors in the UK. In the end I got a cheap short PC cable and chopped one end off to wire up a more sensible common socket (3.5mm jack) which is much more universal and for which cables can be bought anywhere dirt cheap.


5D | 40D | Σ24 f1.8 | 50 f1.8 II | 85 f1.8 | 70-200 F4L | 540EZ x2 | Nissin Di622

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
professorman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,661 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2009
Location: VA
     
Jul 10, 2010 08:58 |  #10

SwitchBlade wrote in post #10510228 (external link)
I struggled to find any of the PC connectors in the UK. In the end I got a cheap short PC cable and chopped one end off to wire up a more sensible common socket (3.5mm jack) which is much more universal and for which cables can be bought anywhere dirt cheap.

Yea, I might end up doing that. Its just that the cheap ones are in Hong Kong and take 2-4 weeks to reach to the US.


MyGear | Feedback | facebook (external link)|My Site (external link)|Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,348 views & 0 likes for this thread
Where to buy PC connector to plug into camera?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Dman780
1397 guests, 322 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.