Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 29 Jul 2010 (Thursday) 03:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What Workflow do you use for PSCS3

 
ukcyberboy
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Jul 29, 2010 03:23 |  #1

Hi
I was wondering if someone had any set flow. I now realise that I need to learn what to do with the image.
What would you do with this, I can let you have the RAW to if required.


HOSTED PHOTO DISPLAY FAILED: ATTACH id 467090 does not exist. ]


I looked at the processing forum but hoped someone here may be able to help.
Thanks
Simon


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Jul 29, 2010 07:15 |  #2

ukcyberboy wrote in post #10623321 (external link)
Hi
I was wondering if someone had any set flow. I now realise that I need to learn what to do with the image.
What would you do with this, I can let you have the RAW to if required.


HOSTED PHOTO DISPLAY FAILED: ATTACH id 467090 does not exist. ]


I looked at the processing forum but hoped someone here may be able to help.
Thanks
Simon

Hi Simon,

I'm sure you'll get people chiming in but this question/post really belongs in the processing and retouching forums.

As a first suggestion (not that it helps you with this particular image) is to learn about custom white balance and the tools needed to capture accurate color. I say this because you now have to add some time for color correction in post, whereas with accurate color you may choose to stray from what is accurate but you'll at least have a standard and a starting point and a base reference for all your images.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ukcyberboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Jul 29, 2010 08:45 |  #3

TMR Design wrote in post #10623827 (external link)
As a first suggestion (not that it helps you with this particular image) is to learn about custom white balance and the tools needed to capture accurate color. I say this because you now have to add some time for color correction in post, whereas with accurate color you may choose to stray from what is accurate but you'll at least have a standard and a starting point and a base reference for all your images.

Hi
Thanks for that you are probably right there about the group but I was hoping for help on processing to help me learn.

Which is the best way to get the WB/colour correct, over here in the UK we pay so much for stuff and my wife say no more.(yet) :lol:.
Would you use a colour chart or grey card as I have looked at these before. I thought that a metered picture would get this correct.
Back to the drawing board for me.
Simon


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Jul 29, 2010 09:03 |  #4

ukcyberboy wrote in post #10624176 (external link)
Hi
Thanks for that you are probably right there about the group but I was hoping for help on processing to help me learn.

Which is the best way to get the WB/colour correct, over here in the UK we pay so much for stuff and my wife say no more.(yet) :lol:.
Would you use a colour chart or grey card as I have looked at these before. I thought that a metered picture would get this correct.
Back to the drawing board for me.
Simon

HI Simon,

You can use an inexpensive white balance card. A white balance card is simply a neutral reference that has equal amounts of red, green and blue. This is not to be confused with gray card used for exposure. A gray card used for exposure is 18%, or middle gray. A neutral white balance card can be any percentage of gray as long as it is neutral and has equal amounts of red, green and blue.

When I first started I was using a $20 white balance card and it did a pretty good job an gave consistent results, which is crucial.

If you haven't already learned how to set a custom white balance in your camera then take a look at the manual or look for tutorials online. It's very simple.

A lot of people use a white towel or piece of white paper or the attempt to find what they consider to be a neutral object but just because something appears white or gray doesn't mean that it's neutral and most often it's not.

For instance, people use a white towel for white balance it's important to realize that many things that appear white actually have blue dyes and other impurities that the eye doesn't see but are used to make something appear white. This can lead to all sorts of color casts.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ukcyberboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Jul 29, 2010 09:35 as a reply to  @ TMR Design's post |  #5

Thanks again.
So with something like this
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …ories&hash=item​5886536c68 (external link)
or
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …nt_RL&hash=item​20b2772977 (external link)
or
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …rs_ET&hash=item​19bcd3d04c (external link)
or
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …ories&hash=item​45f43dd650 (external link)

I would be able to get a better colour balance. I thought that I would be able to do this from RAW but I would be better with something like those.

thanks
Simon


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Jul 29, 2010 09:46 |  #6

ukcyberboy wrote in post #10624441 (external link)
Thanks again.
So with something like this
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …ories&hash=item​5886536c68 (external link)
or
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …nt_RL&hash=item​20b2772977 (external link)
or
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …rs_ET&hash=item​19bcd3d04c (external link)
or
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …ories&hash=item​45f43dd650 (external link)

I would be able to get a better colour balance. I thought that I would be able to do this from RAW but I would be better with something like those.

thanks
Simon

Hey SImon,

I'm not sure I would trust that a cheap ebay card would be an accurate reference. Part of what goes into making these cards is that the ability to have a very small tolerance so that there is consistency in production from one card to the next. That usually adds to the cost. I can't say that what you're showing me won't work or isn't accurate but in my opinion when you're dealing with something like color, to get the right device is a good idea.

I don't know what's available to you of the cost but, for instance, there are cards made my Kodak, Novoflex, WhiBal, Delta, and many other companies. I know I've seen them on Amazon and you can get small ones that fit in your pocket for location work and larger ones for the studio.

I'm just a little leery of an ebay white balance card.

Shooting RAW and opening those images in a RAW editor gives you the ability to make adjustments but you need a reference first. Also, wouldn't you like to have your images come out of the camera with accurate color? I sure would.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ukcyberboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Jul 29, 2010 09:54 as a reply to  @ TMR Design's post |  #7

What do you thing of the lastolite?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …nt_RL&hash=item​20b2772977 (external link)


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ukcyberboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Jul 29, 2010 09:55 as a reply to  @ ukcyberboy's post |  #8

Can also be found on B&H
http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …1250_EZ_Balance​_Grey.html (external link)


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Jul 29, 2010 10:02 as a reply to  @ ukcyberboy's post |  #9

I would trust a Lastolite product.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ukcyberboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Jul 29, 2010 10:10 as a reply to  @ TMR Design's post |  #10

Hi
Just ordered one and will use before all shoots.
I no how to set the white balance, but to be clear, if shot in the light I use and either set in pp or custom white I should theoretically get correct colour?
Thanks Rob, I have always enjoyed your images.
Simon


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Jul 29, 2010 10:26 |  #11

ukcyberboy wrote in post #10624644 (external link)
Hi
Just ordered one and will use before all shoots.
I no how to set the white balance, but to be clear, if shot in the light I use and either set in pp or custom white I should theoretically get correct colour?
Thanks Rob, I have always enjoyed your images.
Simon

Simon,

Some people don't worry about setting an in-camera white balance and just shoot the card as a reference to be used in post. There's nothing wrong with that but for the few seconds it takes to set it in camera, I get to see better or more accurate color in the jpg previews on the LCD as well as if I'm showing images to the client or model. It's terrible if have an incorrect (or none at all) white balance and your client wants to know why the skin looks red or orange.

To me it's just one less thing I have to do in post if the images are imported with a consistent white balance across all the images shot in that light. Even if I'm going to make a change or I decide to warm the skin, those adjustments can now be done form the same starting point as a reference.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ukcyberboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Liversedge
     
Aug 11, 2010 12:17 as a reply to  @ TMR Design's post |  #12

The use of white balance and a meter for exposure?

To make sure I understand the use of a lastolite white grey balance I shoot the white side in the same light settings, filling the frame, then set custom to that and shoot away?(can I trust the colours will be spot on?)

If I change the lighting i.e. more light for a different f stop do I re-shoot the card and reset the white balance?

And my final question is when in PP CS3 do I set the w/b to custom or to as shot when developing RAW?


Body | Canon 6D |
Lens | Yongnuo 50mm 1.8 |
Lens | Canon 28-70 2.8 L |
Lens | Canon 70-200is F4 L |
Lighting | Yongnuo YN600RX |
Accessories | Various Bits |​

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,402 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 33
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Kalama, WA USA
     
Aug 11, 2010 18:56 |  #13

I shoot a new white balance when my light is changed.

As Robert said, with a custom white balance all your images should be have a technically 'correct' white balance and it should be the same for each image shot in that particular light. If you want to tweak that white balance to your taste you can do all the images at once.

It is not necessary to set the WB in photoshop if you shot a custom in the camera.


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Aug 11, 2010 19:58 as a reply to  @ Titus213's post |  #14

I've recently started using the X-Rite ColorChecker Passport and I like it very much. I shoot the neutral white balance card with correct exposure to get my in-camera white balance. While this is pretty close it's not perfect but it lets me preview consistent color and it lets me show clients or models a fairly accurate preview. After I set my custom white balance I shoot the ColorChecker. Once I upload the images I create a profile from the ColorChecker image and then apply that profile to all the images from that series or shoot.

If my lighting changes I shoot the ColorChecker again. Some people see this as a pain in the ass and a time waster. I see it as the exact opposite. It makes my life so much easier in post and gives me a very good and technically accurate starting point. If I want to make changes I can but at least I'm always starting from the same place.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
heymirth
Member
Avatar
248 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
     
Aug 12, 2010 11:18 |  #15

Buy this from me
https://photography-on-the.net …690&highlight=p​hotovision
Photovision Digital Target


Canon 5d MarkII , Canon 5D Classic, Canon 30D, 70-200L F2.8 IS, 50 f1.4; 28-135 f3.5-5.6; 85mm 1.8; 28mm F1.8, (2) 580EX; 430EX, Assorted Strobist Gear; Novatron 240 Kit; Radio Popper Jrx, Cybersyncs
http://christophermarx​photography.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,055 views & 0 likes for this thread
What Workflow do you use for PSCS3
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jabes001
697 guests, 323 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.