Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 10 Aug 2010 (Tuesday) 11:27
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

photocel on Elinchrom 300rx

 
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
6,399 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 529
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 10, 2010 11:27 |  #1

Hey all,

just curious if you must be on manual mode (not ettl) on the hotshoe of the camera to trigger the strobe properly?

I dont have a 3.5 mini jack to mini jack cord for my cybersync. I was testing the 300RX with the photocel option on and it seemed out of sync.

TIA!!!!!!!!!

alan


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 50-140 | TT685
Sony A7iii w/ Sigma MC-11 adapter | Godox V860iiS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Seanzky
Goldmember
Avatar
2,879 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Queens, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 11:31 |  #2

No. You have to change the settings on the RX to read the number of pre-flashes. There's a smart detection thing built-in where you fire your camera/TTL flash and it automatically knows how many pre-fired flashes. You then leave that number there and the "eye" will automatically know when it's being triggered by an eTTL flash.

Check the manual. The menus could be different from BXRis.


Sean | Blog (external link) | Portfolio (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,884 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Aug 10, 2010 11:55 |  #3

OT, but time to invest in some skyports :)


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 13:13 |  #4

Seanzky wrote in post #10694725 (external link)
No. You have to change the settings on the RX to read the number of pre-flashes. There's a smart detection thing built-in where you fire your camera/TTL flash and it automatically knows how many pre-fired flashes. You then leave that number there and the "eye" will automatically know when it's being triggered by an eTTL flash.

Check the manual. The menus could be different from BXRis.

It doesn't exist on the RX's Sean.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 13:14 |  #5

AlanU wrote in post #10694705 (external link)
Hey all,

just curious if you must be on manual mode (not ettl) on the hotshoe of the camera to trigger the strobe properly?

I dont have a 3.5 mini jack to mini jack cord for my cybersync. I was testing the 300RX with the photocel option on and it seemed out of sync.

TIA!!!!!!!!!

alan

Short answer is that you have to be working in manual mode, all the way around. No preflashes.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Seanzky
Goldmember
Avatar
2,879 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Queens, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 13:31 |  #6

Really? That's shocking news to me. I could have sworn RX had that feature, too. Oh, well. I've been wrong about strobes' features before.


Sean | Blog (external link) | Portfolio (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 13:41 |  #7

Seanzky wrote in post #10695441 (external link)
Really? That's shocking news to me. I could have sworn RX had that feature, too. Oh, well. I've been wrong about strobes' features before.

Nope! Remember the RX's were already around and when the new RX's came out the only difference was the housing. More than likely when a new RX is released it will have some of the features of the BXRi's but I'm sure Elinchrom is very much aware of who is buying the gear and how it's being used. My guess is that number of RX owners that are really interested in using Speedlight's with the strobes is a VERY small number and not a feature that's even in demand. I'm sure this is why the RX's and the Ranger haven't changed.

Who knows what we'll see in the newer products but I'm pretty sure that Elinchrom knows who's using Rangers and RX's and will only make changes or implement features when it's a significant feature or upgrade. Outside of that RX and Ranger owners are shooting and not worried about features. :D


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Seanzky
Goldmember
Avatar
2,879 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Queens, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 13:50 |  #8

That could be it, but I think putting features that seem to have no appeal to pros will only add flexibility in weird and random situations. I don't think it impedes a professional photographer's work flow. I'd still like to see Elinchrom put all these features there.

It's like driving a BMW with a passenger mirror that tilts down so you can see the curb when you parallel park. I'll never have to worry about that since I have a drive way, but it's still nice to have just in case. :)


Sean | Blog (external link) | Portfolio (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
6,399 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 529
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 10, 2010 20:58 |  #9

TMR Design wrote in post #10695351 (external link)
Short answer is that you have to be working in manual mode, all the way around. No preflashes.

I figured that......lack of sleep is making me retarded.

Man it seems no one has male/male 3.5mm monojacks. Every store looks at me and says stereo is "modern" and mono is dead.....people that no nothing about photography :)

better order some stuff from Lon.

I'll order the el-skyport speed but since I have cybersyncs I thought I had the correct cord :(


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 50-140 | TT685
Sony A7iii w/ Sigma MC-11 adapter | Godox V860iiS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Aug 10, 2010 21:01 |  #10

AlanU wrote in post #10697957 (external link)
I figured that......lack of sleep is making me retarded.

Man it seems no one has male/male 3.5mm monojacks. Every store looks at me and says stereo is "modern" and mono is dead.....people that no nothing about photography :)

better order some stuff from Lon.

I'll order the el-skyport speed but since I have cybersyncs I thought I had the correct cord :(

If you're looking for good, heavy duty 3.5mm sync cords with metal plugs and strain relief, send me a PM. ;)


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
6,399 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 529
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 10, 2010 22:12 |  #11

TMR Design wrote in post #10697987 (external link)
If you're looking for good, heavy duty 3.5mm sync cords with metal plugs and strain relief, send me a PM. ;)

Why certainly Robert :)


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 50-140 | TT685
Sony A7iii w/ Sigma MC-11 adapter | Godox V860iiS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,239 views & 0 likes for this thread
photocel on Elinchrom 300rx
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jwinslow7
792 guests, 264 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.