Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Astronomy & Celestial Talk 
Thread started 14 Aug 2010 (Saturday) 09:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Condensation on lens?

MCB
668 posts
Joined Jun 2005

Aug 14, 2010 09:43 |  #1

Hi!

I'm new to night photography and astrophotography in particular. So maybe there is an obvious solution to the whole condensation problem that I just don't know about. But I have found that on many nights I get condensation on my lens after an hour or so.

Do you guys just not go out and shoot if the temp is getting too close to the dew point? Is there a trick to keep this from happening?

Thanks.

sponsored links
Adrena1in
Goldmember
1,703 posts
Joined Aug 2007

Aug 14, 2010 09:54 |  #2

Only way I know to stop this, (or remove the dew), is a burst from a hair-dryer, or a dew-heater, which is a strap that goes round the lens and is kept warm, thus keeping the dew away. (Only really use these myself on my telescope, but I have a small one for a lens if I ever need it.)

Canon EOS 450D, Sigma 18-200mm, Canon 50mm f/2.5 Macro, 2x TC, Revelation 12" f/5 Dobsonian, Mintron PD2285-EX webcam.

MCB
THREAD ­ STARTER
668 posts
Joined Jun 2005

Aug 14, 2010 10:03 |  #3

Wow, cool. Thanks for the tip. Google gives lots of results for dew heaters. I had been thinking of the hair dryer option, but that's limited based on the availability of a plugin. The dew heaters look fairly cheap and portable. Thanks again!

MCB
THREAD ­ STARTER
668 posts
Joined Jun 2005

Aug 14, 2010 10:35 |  #4