Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Oct 2010 (Monday) 23:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D Not autofocusing

 
Rubi ­ Jane
Goldmember
Avatar
1,827 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Waterdown, ON
     
Oct 04, 2010 23:41 |  #1

My 5D just started acting up. The body will not activate any attempt to focus when pressing the shutter release button halfway. It's not the lens as it acts the same with all my lenses and the lenses focus fine on my other bodies.

When I change the focus to the * back button the 5D focuses fine with all the lenses. So my conclusion is the halfway depress function of the shutter button to initiate focus is no longer functional. I'll have to take it into Canon for repair (it still needs the mirror recall replacement done anyway).

Anyone else run into this problem? One minute I had AF, the next there was nothing, relegated to either MF or back button.


Lindsey
Gear - Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Oct 05, 2010 00:24 |  #2

Have you got your custom functions (C.Fn IV) set properly, you need to set it back to "0" metering + af start.


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rubi ­ Jane
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,827 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Waterdown, ON
     
Oct 05, 2010 22:41 |  #3

Yes, it's set properly. When CFn IV is set to "0" pressing the shutter button halfway does not activate AF, that's my problem - it should.


Lindsey
Gear - Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Theus
Member
154 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Oct 05, 2010 22:43 |  #4

Does the metering start when you press halfway?

If the metering starts, it's probably not the switch.



S95 - 5D mkII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rubi ­ Jane
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,827 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Waterdown, ON
     
Oct 05, 2010 23:13 |  #5

Good question, I don't recall and don't have the camera with me to check. I'll try it tomorrow and see if the metering starts. Thanks.


Lindsey
Gear - Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
awad
Goldmember
Avatar
1,067 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Philadelphia
     
Oct 06, 2010 00:11 |  #6

this exact issue is happening on my girlfriends 5D as well.


http://www.redfieldpho​to.com (external link)
http://www.theredfield​blog.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
awad
Goldmember
Avatar
1,067 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Philadelphia
     
Oct 06, 2010 00:55 |  #7

lannes wrote in post #11035971 (external link)
Have you got your custom functions (C.Fn IV) set properly, you need to set it back to "0" metering + af start.

just went downstairs. this fixed it. not even sure how that got changed. thanks!


http://www.redfieldpho​to.com (external link)
http://www.theredfield​blog.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rubi ­ Jane
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,827 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Waterdown, ON
     
Oct 06, 2010 15:11 |  #8

Update:

So I checked this morning and metering started but the button would not start AF in the C.Fn. "0" setting. I removed the grip and the clock battery and left it overnight. I just reinstalled the clock battery & the grip and the AF now works in C.Fn. "0". All I can think of is there must have been some glitch that froze the AF operation with the shutter button but still allowed AF from the back * button.

Strange but there's no rush for Canon to service the body, though it'll go in over the winter for the mirror recall service.


Lindsey
Gear - Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,648 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D Not autofocusing
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Fnaf
659 guests, 169 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.