Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 06 Oct 2010 (Wednesday) 09:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

I did a really dumb thing thread...

 
sabianq
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 09:31 |  #1

Thank god this didnt happen when I was doing something important..

so my 3 year old son was making pizza. he was standing on a bench in the kitchen making a pizza..

so i grabbed the camera and fired off about 50 shots..
the lighting was nearly perfect, the kitchen was freshly cleaned (rare)and my son was haveing a ball! the images were classic!

all excited, i took the camera back to the comuuter and flipped the CF door open to pull out the "non existant" compact flash card.

I just sat there and silently cried while looking at the empty memory card slot..

I promptly went to the menu and set the "Shoot W/O Card" option to OFF.
all of the time pondering why even such an option is an option on the camera when there is no internal memory to start with..

<sigh>


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
egraphdesign
Senior Member
Avatar
269 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Birmingham AL
     
Oct 06, 2010 09:40 |  #2

Sounds like something I would do :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itzcryptic
Goldmember
1,174 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati
     
Oct 06, 2010 11:41 |  #3

Seems silly to me also. I set that CF function a long time ago.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sabianq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 11:54 |  #4

itzcryptic wrote in post #11045555 (external link)
Seems silly to me also. I set that CF function a long time ago.

it is silly..
me forgetting to put a card back into the camera and the "shoot W/O Card" option in the camera.

why is there even an option?
when it came out of the box, the camera was set to enable no card shooting.
i turned it off cause i thought i would do exactly what i did.
then later going through the camera settings in the menu, i saw the function and thought there would be a benifit to having it turned back on..
(another dumb thing i did)^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

the option is seemingly a liability for forgetful people like me.

does anybody have any insight as to why is it there in the first place?
what would such a function be used for?


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thepepperman
Senior Member
Avatar
437 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Toronto
     
Oct 06, 2010 11:56 |  #5

I used a brand-new CF card on the weekend at a wedding shoot, without formatting the card in-camera first. No surprise, got a CF error message after about 75 shots on it. Luckily we had a bit of time to re-do some of the formal shots I was using it for, and I was able to recover them on the computer the next day.


Steve - Flickr (external link) - Twitter (external link) - Le Gear
Square Peg Images - Website (external link) - Blog (external link) - Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jill-of-all-Trades
far from having everything figured out!
Avatar
16,299 posts
Gallery: 120 photos
Likes: 439
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Oct 06, 2010 11:56 |  #6

Tethered shooting without a card I would suppose. Writes directly to the computer.
Turned mine off right away too.


Melody

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nathan
So boring
Avatar
7,733 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 296
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Boston
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:04 |  #7

There must be a reason why someone would want to shoot without a CF card in the slot, but I have no idea why. I also have no idea why disabling the camera when there's no CF card is not the default option.


Taking photos with a fancy camera does not make me a photographer.
www.nathantpham.com (external link) | Boston POTN Flickr (external link) |
5D3 x2 | 16-35L II | 35 L | 50L | 85L II | 135L | 580 EX II x2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sabianq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:07 |  #8

thepepperman wrote in post #11045649 (external link)
I used a brand-new CF card on the weekend at a wedding shoot, without formatting the card in-camera first. No surprise, got a CF error message after about 75 shots on it. Luckily we had a bit of time to re-do some of the formal shots I was using it for, and I was able to recover them on the computer the next day.

Yikes!
talk about sweating.. i sure hope i never have to go through that..
although knowing myself, i am sure that senario is well placed in my future..

im glad you got the images..
Cheers!


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sabianq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:09 |  #9

Nathan wrote in post #11045700 (external link)
There must be a reason why someone would want to shoot without a CF card in the slot, but I have no idea why. I also have no idea why disabling the camera when there's no CF card is not the default option.

Melody probably has the correct answer..
however why it is a default set to "on" really makes no sense to me

Jill-of-all-Trades wrote in post #11045652 (external link)
Tethered shooting without a card I would suppose. Writes directly to the computer.
Turned mine off right away too.


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nathan
So boring
Avatar
7,733 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 296
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Boston
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:13 |  #10

Default perhaps so that retailers like Best Buy or such can set up floor models... people can snap shots without a card in the slot and get a feel for the camera. I never even tried... does something get displayed on the lcd when there's no card?


Taking photos with a fancy camera does not make me a photographer.
www.nathantpham.com (external link) | Boston POTN Flickr (external link) |
5D3 x2 | 16-35L II | 35 L | 50L | 85L II | 135L | 580 EX II x2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crobs808
Senior Member
Avatar
598 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:14 |  #11

Nathan wrote in post #11045749 (external link)
Default perhaps so that retailers like Best Buy or such can set up floor models... people can snap shots without a card in the slot and get a feel for the camera. I never even tried... does something get displayed on the lcd when there's no card?

Yes, you get a preview of the image, just like you would with a card, so it can be deceiving. However, I can actually notice a weight difference when I do not have a card in.

OP's Solution: Put a 16GB or 32GB CF card into your camera, super-glue the door shut. Tether to get images. LOL (j/k of course)


5DII | 28-135mm IS USM | 50mm II | HVX200
No trees were harmed in the creation of this post; however, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sabianq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:16 |  #12

Nathan wrote in post #11045749 (external link)
Default perhaps so that retailers like Best Buy or such can set up floor models... people can snap shots without a card in the slot and get a feel for the camera. I never even tried... does something get displayed on the lcd when there's no card?

yes it does..
with a tiny "NO CARD" in the image.

but the camera lets you just keep snappin away like there is nothing wrong.
if you are in a hurry, it is easy to see the image and miss the "NO CARD" which leade one to think everything is dandy..

i dont know about most people, but i really like to use the viewfinder to frame a shot and not the LCD..


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sabianq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:17 |  #13

the solution may be to turn off the option and forget that it is even there..


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sabianq
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: arlington virginia
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:19 |  #14

Nathan wrote in post #11045749 (external link)
Default perhaps so that retailers like Best Buy or such can set up floor models... people can snap shots without a card in the slot and get a feel for the camera. I never even tried... does something get displayed on the lcd when there's no card?

ehh.. maybe.. but you would think that there should be some DEMO mode hidden in the dark resses of the cameras menu.. although generally the people at best buy might probably care less about knowing where the menu button even is let alone digging around in the menu for a "DEMO" mode.

<sigh>


Enjoy the Silence, it does not come very often...
Brian Larson
Datsbrian@Gmail.com (external link)
(Creative Solutions & Paradox pix) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crobs808
Senior Member
Avatar
598 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
     
Oct 06, 2010 12:20 |  #15

sabianq wrote in post #11045778 (external link)
the solution may be to turn off the option and forget that it is even there..

First thing I do when I get a camera is update the firmware to the latest, used or new, then set everything to default using the reset option, then turn off the shoot w/o card option. It is like installing Windows...first thing you do after a fresh install is set the theme to classic, disable system restore and set folders to always show "Details" view (among other things)


5DII | 28-135mm IS USM | 50mm II | HVX200
No trees were harmed in the creation of this post; however, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,952 views & 0 likes for this thread
I did a really dumb thing thread...
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is opcaorel
1304 guests, 220 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.