Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Weddings & Other Family Events Talk 
Thread started 10 Oct 2010 (Sunday) 08:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Shot my 1st wedding........

Phil_0816
325 posts
Joined Mar 2007

Oct 10, 2010 08:30 |  #1

on Friday night. Instead of posting the proverbial "HolySh!tI'mshootingmy 1stweddingpleasehelpme​rightnow" threads, I read some of the posts here from some of you folks that do this regularly along with a book or 2. The bride is a good friend and was very forewarned that I'm not a professional and haven't done this before. Still insisted on me shooting it. Although I'm fairly happy, there were some disappointments. Here is the list of equip I had: 7D, T1i, 17-55 f/2.8, 24-105 f/4, 50mm f/1.4, 85mm f/1.8, 70-200 f/2.8 and a 580EX II flash.

Things I learned:
This church was very poorly lit. Tall stained glass windows floor to ceiling behind altar about a ft or so wide. Worked out okay for ceremony anyways other than the different colors of the glass. (Facing the west for a 6p ceremony)

The lens you plan on using for shooting the ceremony, carry 2 of them, if not 3. My beloved 17-55 f/2.8 IS was a PIA Fri night.

Use your tripod more than you have planned to use it. (The dark church required a slow shutter speed even shooting at 800-1600 ISO)

I wish I would've had a 30mm instead of my 50mm or 85mm for the ceremony.

There were various other things I learned but these were the main points.

The biggest thing I learned--You professional, do-it-every-weekend, wedding photographers earn every penny you charge!