Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 25 Oct 2010 (Monday) 23:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Non-PCB stripboxes for ABs?

 
FullStop ­ Photography
Senior Member
Avatar
597 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: The OC
     
Oct 25, 2010 23:47 |  #1

I like Paul Buff products but the PCB stripbox is too short (36") for full-length work. Has anyone found or can recommend a longer (60"+) stripbox that fits the Bees? Collapsible would be nice but good build quality is probably more important. Thanks.


website (external link) · facebook (external link) · tumblr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
J ­ Kacey
Goldmember
Avatar
1,142 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2007
     
Oct 25, 2010 23:58 |  #2

I like my Chimera's....


Kacey Enterprises (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Csae
Goldmember
Avatar
3,350 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
     
Oct 26, 2010 01:16 |  #3

Cheaper then Chimeras, longer then ABs, would be Visicos that you can find on Ebay.

I have one Visico so far, and for the money its pretty good, not great, but pretty decent.

I think the largest i saw was 40cm (16") x 140cm (55"), haven't gotten one yet though, so i can't comment.

I remember seeing a 2m one at some point, but i can't seem to find em anymore.


Feel free to call me Case.
CasePhoto.ca (external link) - FanPage (external link)
-Montreal based Photography.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
J ­ Kacey
Goldmember
Avatar
1,142 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2007
     
Oct 26, 2010 01:34 as a reply to  @ Csae's post |  #4

There are many things I like about Chimera...
One of the most important things for me was when I made the investment was that I could get replacement parts. If something gives out they are in the states and will make repairs if needed. Besides just the replacement parts they have front diffusers you can purchase in 1/4, 1/2 and full stop panels. They also have scrim panels, color correcting panels.... You name it! I think the largest strip they make is over 80" tall. On top of it all the factory is based in the USA.

If you are looking for "quality" you will not find a better company IMO.


Kacey Enterprises (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FullStop ­ Photography
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
597 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: The OC
     
Oct 26, 2010 01:44 |  #5

Thanks for both the replies so far. Guess it comes back to the perennial decision: pay more and get quality and service you can depend on, or go cheap and get what you pay for. Why'd I have to pick such an expensive hobby? :(


website (external link) · facebook (external link) · tumblr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,431 posts
Likes: 3310
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 26, 2010 08:23 |  #6

Photoflex has halfdome2 medium - $170


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bumgardnern
Senior Member
977 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Nashvegas
     
Oct 26, 2010 09:09 |  #7

The large Chimera Super Pro strip box is really nice. The extra money for the Super Pro over the Pro II is really worth it. The Pro II feels cheap in comparison.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Seanzky
Goldmember
Avatar
2,879 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Queens, NY
     
Oct 26, 2010 09:50 |  #8

Csae wrote in post #11165948 (external link)
Cheaper then Chimeras, longer then ABs, would be Visicos that you can find on Ebay.

I have one Visico so far, and for the money its pretty good, not great, but pretty decent.

I think the largest i saw was 40cm (16") x 140cm (55"), haven't gotten one yet though, so i can't comment.

I remember seeing a 2m one at some point, but i can't seem to find em anymore.

I agree with this post and I own two. The only regret was not getting the slightly smaller one that comes with the grid. I would recommend that one.

BTW, I'm all for Chimeras. I've owned two SBs before and it's just top-notch in every aspect. The Easton fiberglass rods were so easy to work with and made sure the shape was perfect every time. But if you want to go cheap, you'll never find the Chimera-like qualities.


Sean | Blog (external link) | Portfolio (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Oct 26, 2010 10:01 as a reply to  @ Seanzky's post |  #9

I'm still not ready to replace my strip boxes but I have every intention of getting the Chimera strips. I've seen them and I've worked with them and when it comes to materials and build with grids of various degrees of control and barn doors, there just isn't a better choice, in my opinion.

I've owned cheap strips and I know why they're cheap.

I know, I know.. we can go on and on complaining about the price of grids but the fact of the matter is simple. If we want grids we have to pay a premium for them, and if we want quality modifiers we have to pay for them as well.

From everything I can see, the best combination of modifier and grid availability is from Chimera. Sadly, Elinchrom just can't touch any of the grid guys. Strip boxes are used so much with grids that it's rather silly to make small and mid sized strips without a grid. I would have gotten the Elinchrom 20" x 51" strip long ago but the lack of a grid is a problem. I'd love to use it as a narrow softbox but when I need a strip I always need it gridded.

My vote goes to Chimera.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FeXL
Senior Member
493 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2007
     
Oct 26, 2010 10:07 as a reply to  @ TMR Design's post |  #10

I'll throw in a vote for Larson Enterprises. Good quality, good modifiers.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
_method
Member
207 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: New York
     
Oct 26, 2010 22:17 |  #11

http://creativelight.c​om/ (external link)


Flickr (external link)
MatthewBaltrusitis.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yuriyo923
Goldmember
Avatar
2,284 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2007
Location: US
     
Dec 07, 2010 09:58 |  #12

Can anyone recommend a stripbox for speedlight?


Canon 5D2 ~ 40D + 17-50mm in da booth!
www.seattleboothrental​.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Dec 07, 2010 10:01 as a reply to  @ yuriyo923's post |  #13

As long as you have a bracket or method of attaching your Speedlight to a speed ring then you can use any strip box you like. No one strip box is going to better than another. The key is to orient the flash head vertically inside the strip and use a flash head zoom setting that lets the flash fill the box.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,476 posts
Likes: 162
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Dec 07, 2010 10:03 |  #14

yuriyo923 wrote in post #11410045 (external link)
Can anyone recommend a stripbox for speedlight?

I doubt that a Speedlite can fill a longer stripbox evenly. The reason is that most softboxes are really designed for studio flash units with "naked" flash tubes inside. Thus, the light goes in all directions from the flash tube.

All Speedlites have a reflector behind the flash tube and you cannot remove it to emulate a "naked" studio flash unit.


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Dec 07, 2010 10:09 as a reply to  @ SkipD's post |  #15

I've done it Skip. It works just as well as filling a softbox. If the flash head and strip are oriented the same way and you use ~24mm as the zoom setting on the flash it does work quite well.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,251 views & 0 likes for this thread
Non-PCB stripboxes for ABs?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Meliha
837 guests, 198 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.