Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 27 Oct 2010 (Wednesday) 21:24
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Issues

 
ajaffe
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Oct 27, 2010 21:24 |  #1

Hey everyone. Just thought I would share some of my 7D issues to see if they are me or the camera needs to be sent in.

-My aperture value changes in AV mode on the top LCD and main LCD but not the viewfinder display. It will fluctuate from 2.8 to 3.5 and back and forth as I move my camera around. My aperture is set for 2.8 to remain constant. Any ideas?

-Sometimes focus will take forever unless I repeatedly press the AF-On or (*) button over and over. Even if I hold it down with a forcefull press it will not achieve focus. I replicate this sometimes by manually adjusting the front ring of my lens to make the subject OOF and then checking to see if the camera will AF onto the subject when I press the buttons. Sometimes it does and sometimes it fails.

-Hot pixel that is very evident in Video mode. I did the whole manual clean for 1-30 minutes thing and it remapped it, but it is still there.


So should I send it in? Or is this stuff fixable on my end?


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
spiralspirit
Senior Member
940 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
     
Oct 27, 2010 21:26 |  #2

1) Are you changing the focal lengths on your lens? Lenses without constant apertures may have their maximum apertures change as you zoom in, so that at 18mm it will be able to be f/2.8 but at tighter zoom will be forced to f/3.5


canon 1dmk2* Canon XSi * Sigma 24-70 f/2.8 EX DG * Canon 17-40mm f/4L * Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX * Canon 50mm f/1.8 *

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ajaffe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Oct 27, 2010 22:39 |  #3

70-200 f2.8 or 300 f2.8 are the two lenses I use. Typically they are always at 2.8 since I shoot sports. Forgot to include that.


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,921 posts
Gallery: 1735 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5615
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Oct 27, 2010 22:52 |  #4

You have a 1D2n so I'm going to assume you are familiar with the scroll wheel, the thumb wheel, and how everything else works on a Canon. That being the case, sounds like something is screwy with your 7D. Time to call the mothership or if it's not too late, exchange it w/ the store you bought it from.


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ajaffe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Oct 27, 2010 23:35 |  #5

jwcdds wrote in post #11178902 (external link)
You have a 1D2n so I'm going to assume you are familiar with the scroll wheel, the thumb wheel, and how everything else works on a Canon. That being the case, sounds like something is screwy with your 7D. Time to call the mothership or if it's not too late, exchange it w/ the store you bought it from.

At first I thought I might be hitting something. But it repeated it when I pressed only the focus buttons. Kind of annoying.

I may just have to send it in. I got it secondhand but I got the receipt luckily.


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MARK1992
Senior Member
767 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
     
Oct 27, 2010 23:55 |  #6

ajaffe wrote in post #11178348 (external link)
-My aperture value changes in AV mode on the top LCD and main LCD but not the viewfinder display. It will fluctuate from 2.8 to 3.5 and back and forth as I move my camera around. My aperture is set for 2.8 to remain constant. Any ideas?

Safety-shift enabled?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ajaffe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Oct 27, 2010 23:56 |  #7

Even if it was why would that affect a shot done in Av with adequate lighting? Also, why would it not display the change in the viewfinder as opposed to both LCDs? I could be missing something though but I don't know.


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MARK1992
Senior Member
767 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
     
Oct 28, 2010 00:02 |  #8

ajaffe wrote in post #11179221 (external link)
Even if it was why would that affect a shot done in Av with adequate lighting? Also, why would it not display the change in the viewfinder as opposed to both LCDs? I could be missing something though but I don't know.

Adequate lighting. Could it be too adequate and hence it stopped down?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Poe
Goldmember
Avatar
1,956 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Modesto, CA
     
Oct 28, 2010 00:57 |  #9

MARK1992 wrote in post #11179250 (external link)
Adequate lighting. Could it be too adequate and hence it stopped down?

That doesn't make sense for Av. Av is supposed to keep the aperture constant, no matter what the incoming light is for the meter.



Nikon D750, D7200 | Nikon-Nikkor 14-24G, 60G Micro, 70-300E | SIGMA 35A, 105 OS, 24-105 OS | ZEISS Distagon 2.0/25 Classic, Apo-Distagon 1.4/55 Otus, Apo-Planar 1.4/85 Otus, Makro-Planar 2/100 Classic, Apo-Sonnar 2/135 Classic

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MARK1992
Senior Member
767 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
     
Oct 28, 2010 01:27 |  #10

Poe wrote in post #11179446 (external link)
That doesn't make sense for Av. Av is supposed to keep the aperture constant, no matter what the incoming light is for the meter.

Oh yea, I might have missed that! :lol:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ajaffe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Oct 28, 2010 01:49 |  #11

I might end up selling it after I get it back just to get another 1D2n or a 1D3 blue dot.


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jberry
Member
Avatar
69 posts
Joined Apr 2010
     
Oct 28, 2010 03:06 |  #12

You just purchased your 7D new?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Oct 28, 2010 05:42 |  #13

Poe wrote in post #11179446 (external link)
That doesn't make sense for Av. Av is supposed to keep the aperture constant, no matter what the incoming light is for the meter.

Unless you have 'Safety Shift' enabled. Try it; set ISO to 64000 and the aperture to f/2.8 in Av mode. Point the camera at the sky and one of two things will happen.

If SS is disabled then the shutter speed in the viewfinder will flash, alerting you to overexposure.

If SS is enabled then the aperture will change to keep the exposure OK. Indeed, the exact symptoms reported by the OP.


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
designt1
Member
Avatar
148 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
     
Oct 28, 2010 08:07 |  #14

yep, sounds like safety shift.


7D | 5DII | 24-105 f4L IS | 70-200 f2.8L IS | 85mm f1.2L II | 17-40 f4L | 50mm f1.8 | Sigma 18-50 f2.8 EX Macro | 580exII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TritonB7
Member
154 posts
Joined Apr 2010
     
Oct 28, 2010 09:28 |  #15

I was able to reproduce this with my 7D with safety shift enabled.


My Gear | My Rig | My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,647 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Issues
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is wiemez
684 guests, 273 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.