Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography 
Thread started 22 Nov 2010 (Monday) 14:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

question about friends and business...

jeljohns
334 posts
Joined Nov 2009

Nov 22, 2010 14:52 |  #1

I am just starting out. I had a good friend ask to do a family portrait session. I did not charge them, mostly because I'm portfolio building. Then they asked for holiday cards. I told them a price, then they asked if they could use the file to order the cards through Shutterfly. I mostly wanted them to purchase the cards through me because then I could guarantee the quality and also because my business info is printed on the back, which could generate more business. So now I'm feeling like I should charge a fee for the digital file, but being that it is a friend I feel weird! They also want to order 10 5X7s.

Just curious how others handle friends and business and what you would do in this situation. I always feel really uncomfortable with it and have started turning friends away.

sponsored links
Peacefield
Goldmember
4,022 posts
Joined Jul 2008

Nov 22, 2010 14:58 |  #2

It's a hard question to answer owing to variables; there are friends and then there are friends. I have buddies who I would do anything for at no cost. Then there are others . . .