Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 24 Nov 2010 (Wednesday) 21:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Focus Screen Question

 
ajaffe
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Nov 24, 2010 21:07 |  #1

Would a Ec-CIV focusing screen from a 1DMkIII work on a 1dMkIIn that normally uses a Ec-CIII screen without any issues? I know that there is a custom function setting within the 1D that you are able to choose your focusing screen in but this is where my confusion comes in.

On the 1DMkIIn menu it does not have an option for the CIV.
On the 1DMkIII menu it has an option for the CIV and it is a separate option from the CIII screen.

What sort of issues would I experience if I used the CIV in the 2n?


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,275 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 409
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Nov 25, 2010 01:04 |  #2

The focusing screens affect light metering. The settings tell the camera to compensate for that. If you use a screen without the proper setting, either due to forgetting or because it's not supported, it may be that your exposure will be off by some amount, in one or the other direction.
If you use an external meter, this is no issue. Or you have to learn and always set a certain exposure compensation. Depends upon how much the exposure is off.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ajaffe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
792 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
     
Nov 25, 2010 12:59 |  #3

Hmm. I guess the real question is is what the differences between the CIII and CIV are. If no one has personal experiences with the two then I guess I need to do some testing.


www.jaffe.photo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

840 views & 0 likes for this thread
Focus Screen Question
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is kenf
682 guests, 285 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.