Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 01 Jan 2011 (Saturday) 07:44
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Am I imagining a 7D focus problem?

 
artyman
Sleepless in Hampshire
Avatar
14,402 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 69
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Hampshire UK
     
Jan 01, 2011 10:52 |  #31

The images are a bit small to judge, I use single point focus usually centre and centre expanded for bid shots. You do need to keep a decent shutter speed even with IS if possible as the high density sensor will accentuate movement. You need to eliminate any user error to determine if it really is a camera problem.


Art that takes you there. http://www.artyman.co.​uk (external link)
Ken
Canon 7D, 350D, 15-85, 18-55, 75-300, Cosina 100 Macro, Sigma 120-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Accessoire
Goldmember
1,119 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 01, 2011 10:53 |  #32

click on the "Print Screen" button (usually above the F10 or F11 buttons)
then open Paint and hit "Edit" then "Paste"
and it should paste right there and from that point you can go to "File"
"Save As" and voila!

there is probably a better way, but this is what I do




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Saxi
Goldmember
Avatar
2,781 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: NH, USA
     
Jan 01, 2011 10:55 |  #33

Plumtreelad wrote in post #11551607 (external link)
I have owned the 7D for just over a year and I cannot convince myself that the auto focus works well. Too many of my shots seem soft and a little out of focus.I have sent my 24 - 105 back to Canon for recalibrating but it has made no difference. I am mad with myself for not doing something about it within the year so that I could ask Canon to look at it under warranty. Is it just my technique that is wanting, or have others had inexplicable focussing problems?

When I first got my 7D, I was not happy with it at all, the noise at low ISO was disappointing and it wasn't impressive sharpness-wise. I sent it to Canon and it came back much better, notes mentioned some adjustments to the focus assembly. I read this isn't very uncommon with earlier 7D units.

I still find images were I am not impressed with sharpness often, I am not sure how much of this is me and how much of it is the body. It seems results are very inconsistent. I do get some very sharp images from the 7D at times, so I believe it is just me at this point.


5D III, 24-105mm f/4 L, 135mm f/2 L, 70-200mm f/4 IS L, 580EX II
Full Gear List
Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mikewinburn
Goldmember
Avatar
1,609 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2010
Location: NYC
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:00 |  #34

Plumtreelad wrote in post #11552320 (external link)
Did the first bit but How do I "screen capture it?"

maximize the screen, then hit "print screen" on your keyboard
then open up ms paint, hit "paste".
then save
then post that pic.

Easiest way for us to view the whole pic is to open an flickr account, and "LINK" your picture without downrezing it ere on POTN. We could also see your EXIF if you so allow your viewers in your privacy settings.


Gear: The Official Gear List / Market Feedback / Sig thread #2468
flickr (external link)
WinburnCreations (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Plumtreelad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:04 |  #35

Accessoire wrote in post #11552333 (external link)
click on the "Print Screen" button (usually above the F10 or F11 buttons)
then open Paint and hit "Edit" then "Paste"
and it should paste right there and from that point you can go to "File"
"Save As" and voila!

there is probably a better way, but this is what I do

Sorry, cannot find the "print screen " button on my keyboard.


5D Mk III|7D |1DmkIV |10 -22 |24 -105 F4 IS L | 35 F2 IS | 70-200 F2.8 IS II L | 85 1.8 | 300 F2.8 IS MK II L|1.4 Extender MK III |
flickr (external link)
david kissman photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Acute ­ Exposure
Senior Member
940 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Tampa
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:05 |  #36

Plumtreelad wrote in post #11552386 (external link)
Sorry, cannot find the "print screen " button on my keyboard.

Mac or pc?


Website (Updated Recently) (external link)
Flickr (Constantly Updated) (external link)
Canon 1Ds3 - 7D - 24-105mm F4 L IS - 70-200mm F2.8 L IS II (Always attached) - 50mm 1.8 (Never gets used) - 1.4x MKii - 580EX II - 430EX II - Lots of other gadgets

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yourdoinitwrong
Goldmember
Avatar
2,394 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:06 |  #37

Plumtreelad wrote in post #11552257 (external link)
Here ia another couple of shots I have just taken. Any better?

As the others said they are too small to tell. Follow their advice on the screen capture or better yet the link to a Flickr account so we can see the whole image to see where the focus is actually falling.


5D4 w/BG-E20, 24-105 f/4L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 35 f/1.4L, 85 f/1.8, 100 f/2.8L IS Macro, Sigma 50 f/1.4
Full List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Plumtreelad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:17 |  #38

mikewinburn wrote in post #11552368 (external link)
maximize the screen, then hit "print screen" on your keyboard
then open up ms paint, hit "paste".
then save
then post that pic.

Easiest way for us to view the whole pic is to open an flickr account, and "LINK" your picture without downrezing it ere on POTN. We could also see your EXIF if you so allow your viewers in your privacy settings.

Does this work?
http://www.flickr.com …/52812080@N08/5​312287933/ (external link)


5D Mk III|7D |1DmkIV |10 -22 |24 -105 F4 IS L | 35 F2 IS | 70-200 F2.8 IS II L | 85 1.8 | 300 F2.8 IS MK II L|1.4 Extender MK III |
flickr (external link)
david kissman photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Plumtreelad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
270 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:18 |  #39

yourdoinitwrong wrote in post #11552402 (external link)
As the others said they are too small to tell. Follow their advice on the screen capture or better yet the link to a Flickr account so we can see the whole image to see where the focus is actually falling.

Here is another

http://www.flickr.com …/52812080@N08/5​312868746/ (external link)


5D Mk III|7D |1DmkIV |10 -22 |24 -105 F4 IS L | 35 F2 IS | 70-200 F2.8 IS II L | 85 1.8 | 300 F2.8 IS MK II L|1.4 Extender MK III |
flickr (external link)
david kissman photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Saxi
Goldmember
Avatar
2,781 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: NH, USA
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:22 |  #40

Your max resolution of the image on Flickr is only 1024, that really isn't much to work with.


5D III, 24-105mm f/4 L, 135mm f/2 L, 70-200mm f/4 IS L, 580EX II
Full Gear List
Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Accessoire
Goldmember
1,119 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:22 |  #41

okay, take this with a grain of salt as I am not an expert on the 7D
but looking at these pics as big as flickr will let me
I don't see a problem with sharpness, your larger fstop of 4 will only render so much of your shot in focus
so, with that in mind, they look fine to me

how does everyone else feel?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mikewinburn
Goldmember
Avatar
1,609 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2010
Location: NYC
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:32 |  #42

quick set up on flickr!

Couple things that may be throwing you off from your EXIF Data:
a) Center focus point was selected (great) but im still guessing your focus was the diamond shape of the yellow crane arm? (you weren't able to post the pic with the focus points showing)
b) 24mm appears to have been your focal length- at 24 mm the center focus point covers ALOT of area; so don't be suprized if your focus isn't pin sharp
c) big one - you used AI Servo Mode for a still image - any movement in the frame could cause misfocus unless you're panning - try using :ONE SHOT"
d) lastly, one of the biggest advantages of the 7D is the micro adjustment feature with your lens and camera as a spot on combo. I see you haven't used that feature. I would suggest you start there first and foremost. You may find that you don't have a problem with the camera or then lens at all.... they just need to be calibrated as a combo! :) Spend the time to make 'em match and you'll be glad you did.

** just realized your focal length was 40mm


Gear: The Official Gear List / Market Feedback / Sig thread #2468
flickr (external link)
WinburnCreations (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
alann
Goldmember
2,609 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Nov 2007
Location: South Carolina
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:33 |  #43

xhack wrote in post #11551879 (external link)
Again, not to insult, but I'm curious - why ISO800 and ƒ9 and 1/13sec. It does seem a strange combo and I'm interested to know the why and wherefore.

I have to agree. I would bet it is the SS. If there is camera shake it does not matter how low an aperture you use....it will still be blurry. I learned how to meter the 7D after finally stopping and thinking about each setting and why I wanted it. Made my 7D a MUCH better camera!


My FLickrPage (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
focus.pocus
Goldmember
Avatar
3,423 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Geneva Switzerland / South Carolina U.S.A.
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:35 |  #44

also what aperture are you using?


I know, right? I'm just sayin'...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sorarse
Goldmember
Avatar
2,193 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Kent, UK
     
Jan 01, 2011 11:39 |  #45

Rather than post the entire image at a small size, which makes it difficult to tell whether the shot is sharp or not, try posting a 100% crop of the area that you focussed on. Should be able to tell from that if you have a problem or not.


At the beginning of time there was absolutely nothing. And then it exploded! Terry Pratchett

http://www.scarecrowim​ages.com (external link)
Canon PowerShot G2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,236 views & 0 likes for this thread
Am I imagining a 7D focus problem?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bushpilot
1300 guests, 192 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.