Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 07 Jan 2011 (Friday) 12:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How do a create an Action for a process I will use over and over?

 
MindlessConsumer
Senior Member
Avatar
308 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Jan 07, 2011 12:34 |  #1

I want to do the same thing to a whole series of images. Is there a way to create an Action that would apply those processes to an entire image all at once, rather than going through each image and repeating the steps one at a time?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
PixelPusher
Goldmember
Avatar
1,929 posts
Gallery: 85 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1205
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Surf City, USA - Left Coast
     
Jan 07, 2011 13:30 |  #2

You didn't mention what application you are referring to, I assume Photoshop. If that is the case, the answer is yes. In the actions palette, you can record all the steps. Select "new action" and see the record button. Do your steps and select the stop button. After that just choose your new action on your selected image and hit play. I have a few of my own. Also the batch process works too on several at a time. Have fun.


Robert

SmugMug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
robertwsimpson
Goldmember
Avatar
2,471 posts
Likes: 60
Joined Jun 2010
Location: West Palm Beach, FL USA
     
Jan 07, 2011 13:31 |  #3

or in lightroom, just copy the develop settings and paste them to all the other images.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jimmer411
Thank god Im green.
866 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Pacific, WA
     
Jan 07, 2011 13:42 |  #4

In LR3 you can select all images and then click the one you want to use the settings from (It will be a solid white vs the dim white of the other selections) and click sync.


5D3 | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 430EX | YN-568EX II | YN-622c | YN-622-TX |
Selling Sigma 30mm 1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 547
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jan 07, 2011 16:14 |  #5

As has been mentioned, the software you are using makes all the difference. Photoshop CSx gives you the ability to create and "play" Actions on batches of images. Other software takes different approaches and may or may not facilitate easy batch processing.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MindlessConsumer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
308 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Jan 07, 2011 17:09 |  #6

I am sorry. I am using CS3.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MindlessConsumer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
308 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Jan 07, 2011 17:10 |  #7

Allscape wrote in post #11593164 (external link)
You didn't mention what application you are referring to, I assume Photoshop. If that is the case, the answer is yes. In the actions palette, you can record all the steps. Select "new action" and see the record button. Do your steps and select the stop button. After that just choose your new action on your selected image and hit play. I have a few of my own. Also the batch process works too on several at a time. Have fun.

Where is the actions palette, lol?

Upper right some where?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelPusher
Goldmember
Avatar
1,929 posts
Gallery: 85 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1205
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Surf City, USA - Left Coast
     
Jan 07, 2011 17:36 as a reply to  @ MindlessConsumer's post |  #8

Go under the "Window" menu, you will see Actions, make sure it is checked. If not it is hidden.


Robert

SmugMug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Damo77
Goldmember
Avatar
4,686 posts
Likes: 111
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
     
Jan 07, 2011 17:39 |  #9

Make your very first action (external link) - HTH.


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,365 views & 0 likes for this thread
How do a create an Action for a process I will use over and over?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is countrygirl67
866 guests, 265 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.