Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 25 Jan 2011 (Tuesday) 12:26
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Another FD to EF permanent conversion....

funkyfones
350 posts
Joined Feb 2009

Jan 25, 2011 12:26 |  #1

Ok so I was bored and as you do I started playing with an FD 28mm 2.8, I have a nifty fifty but find it too long indoors which is exactly where a fast lens is needed.

So anyway, stripped it down, ripped the guts out, removed the f stop clicks so it'd be smooth, attached the armature to the blades for full manual aperture control, slapped an m42 mount on the end and voila... infinity focus and smooth stops from 2.8 to 22.

I didnt think that using focus with 10x zoom enabled would be as good as it is but i'm surprised to say the least, next mission... same thing to a 1.2 or 1.4

I didnt think it'd work so never bothered with a step by step, maybe for the next one. It wasnt exactly easy but it wasnt rocket science either.

here it is on my 450

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

the usual battery test

HOSTED PHOTO

and the lens itself

IMAGE: http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5255/5387567933_51a990fe1f_b.jpg

Anyones else had a go lately? lets see em.

Gear: Afew bodies and afew pieces of glass | Flickr (external link)| Lens/cameras repairs and for sale | (external link)Website for camera/lens repairs (external link)

sponsored links
sd850is
103 posts
Joined Jun 2009

Jan 25, 2011 12:34 |  #2

did you follow a diy or something? I'd like to know how to do this