Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 02 Feb 2011 (Wednesday) 06:26
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

24mm f/1.4L and 35mm f/1.4L - What's the difference

TijmenDal
Goldmember
1,214 posts
Joined Oct 2010

Feb 02, 2011 06:26 |  #1

I am by no means an expert on photography; I know more than the average person on the street, but on this forum I'm pretty sure I'm with the 3% biggest noobies. N
othing wrong with that as I just started this (way too expensive) hobby, except for me buggering you with, probably stupid, questions.

I've been checking these forums a lot lately and learned a lot (high five for learning!), but there's some things I just don't understand. This being one of them:
Why would you buy either the 24mm or 35mm? They have the same specs, one has just a tiny bit longer FL than the other.
Take two steps forward or back, and you have exactly the same image in your viewfinder. They both aren't really wide angle lenses, and to be honest, I wouldn't know what type of photography they're suited well for. It's just that I'm wondering why you would buy one or the other, as taking a step forward or back will yield the same result.

The ónly thing I can come up with why you would get one is for the bokeh, because with one you'd be relatively closer to the object than the other, resulting in a slightly different bokeh.

Someone enlighten me please.

//Tijmen
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/tijmendalexternal link

Gear

sponsored links
tomme
Goldmember
1,263 posts
Joined Apr 2010