Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 06 Feb 2011 (Sunday) 12:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Computer Dilemma

 
Muskydave22
Goldmember
Avatar
1,716 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
     
Feb 06, 2011 12:30 |  #1

Alright here goes nothing,

I have been editing my 5d2 files for the past 8 months or so on my Toshiba satellite laptop with a Core Duo processor and 4 gb of ram. The thing is a dog when I import raw files and try to edit them in photoshop.

My first instinct was to spend a $100 and put 4 more gb of ram in my laptop, but is that really going to make a huge difference?

My second instinct, which I have been wanting to do for a while, is jump to mac with either the top end Imac or the low end mac pro. I love the screen of the 27" Imac and I heard that with the I7 processor and 12gb of ram, that thing really has some nice speed. But I have heard the Imac's are going to be revamped soon, and since I won't be making this purchase till April at least, I should wait for the new ones to come out and see what they come up with.

Third option would be get a beast computer from HP with the I7-980x processor, 16 gb of ram, 256gb SSD and a 3 TB hard drive. Then I would probably get a Dell 24" Ultra sharp monitor, but this setup would definitely cost more than the Imac would, but it would run circles around the Imac, I am assuming.

Last, and hopefully least, would be to build my own. I really have no idea how to build my own computer and would definitely need some major help with that. But what kind of setup could I get for about the same price as the Imac or the HP beast?

Thanks for your guys advice, I am lost in terms of this computer stuff so many opitons!

Dave


Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kitacanon
Goldmember
4,706 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 36
Joined Sep 2006
Location: West Palm Beach
     
Feb 06, 2011 16:56 |  #2

I think 256gb SSD is way more (2x) than you need for a primary OS/program-only drive...
2 HDDs = 3Tb is better than 1 HDD = 3Tb
Is the 24 Dell an IPS monitor?...better smaller (23") and better (if the 24 is not an IPS)

As for the i7-980x vs Sandy Bridge....well...depen​ds on cost I'd guess when compared to SB...

If you have little knowledge building a $1000 PC try to find a mentor...having some experience looking over your shoulder would be nice...

Good luck...


My Canon kit 450D/s90; Canon lenses 18-55 IS, 70-210/3.5-4.5....Nikon kit: D610; 28-105/3.5-4.5, 75-300/4.5-5.6 AF, 50/1.8D Nikkors, Tamron 80-210; MF Nikkors: 50/2K, 50/1.4 AI-S, 50/1.8 SeriesE, 60/2.8 Micro Nikkor (AF locked), 85mm/1.8K-AI, 105/2.5 AIS/P.C, 135/2.8K/Q.C, 180/2.8 ED, 200/4Q/AIS, 300/4.5H-AI, ++ Tamron 70-210/3.8-4, Vivitar/Kiron 28/2, ser.1 70-210/3.5, ser.1 28-90; Vivitar/Komine and Samyang 28/2.8; 35mm Nikon F/FM/FE2, Rebel 2K...HTC RE UWA camera

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sp1207
Goldmember
1,835 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Right Behind You
     
Feb 06, 2011 20:28 |  #3

The new i5s run circles around the old i7 in the imac, and the new i7 quads match up with the old i7 hexacores. IMO a 128GB SSD is about the top end of what you need.


Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Muskydave22
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,716 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
     
Feb 06, 2011 21:42 |  #4

Do you guys think I should wait to see what the new Imac's have to offer in a couple of months and just deal with my turtle of a laptop? The Imac screen is awesome and I love the simplicity of it, but I don't want to buy one now if they come out with something way better in 2 months.

I am intrigued about building a PC, a fun project and I would know how a pc runs too. What do you guys think would be a good setup for a build it myself PC? Something that I can upgrade down the road if need be would be nice!

Dave


Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Muskydave22
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,716 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
     
Feb 07, 2011 01:14 |  #5

how would this computer be?Link (external link) I think it would rip, especially with the I7-950 processor

Dave


Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
smclaren
Member
Avatar
213 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: London
     
Feb 07, 2011 01:44 |  #6

Muskydave22 wrote in post #11788307 (external link)
Alright here goes nothing,

I have been editing my 5d2 files for the past 8 months or so on my Toshiba satellite laptop with a Core Duo processor and 4 gb of ram. The thing is a dog when I import raw files and try to edit them in photoshop.

My first instinct was to spend a $100 and put 4 more gb of ram in my laptop, but is that really going to make a huge difference?

My second instinct, which I have been wanting to do for a while, is jump to mac with either the top end Imac or the low end mac pro. I love the screen of the 27" Imac and I heard that with the I7 processor and 12gb of ram, that thing really has some nice speed. But I have heard the Imac's are going to be revamped soon, and since I won't be making this purchase till April at least, I should wait for the new ones to come out and see what they come up with.

Third option would be get a beast computer from HP with the I7-980x processor, 16 gb of ram, 256gb SSD and a 3 TB hard drive. Then I would probably get a Dell 24" Ultra sharp monitor, but this setup would definitely cost more than the Imac would, but it would run circles around the Imac, I am assuming.

Last, and hopefully least, would be to build my own. I really have no idea how to build my own computer and would definitely need some major help with that. But what kind of setup could I get for about the same price as the Imac or the HP beast?

Thanks for your guys advice, I am lost in terms of this computer stuff so many opitons!

Dave

We made the jump from using CS5 on a Toshiba to the iMac. When that 27 inch screen powers up it blows me away everytime. With 2.93GHz and four i7 processors you can open all your raw files at once, almost as quick as you can take your hand off the track pad. HD is 1920x1080 the 27-inch iMac is 2560x1440.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 372
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Feb 07, 2011 04:19 |  #7

That's not a dilemma. A dilemma is when both your wife and your daughter need a kidney, and you're the only compatible donor. What you have is confusion through lack of knowledge, which we can help with.

The new i5 (latest gen) will easily beat the iMac and the i7, and will probably cost less too. Three 1TB drives would be faster than a 3TB drives, though i'd go for 2+2+SSD, plus 2+2 for offsite backup. Adding ram to a core duo laptop is a waste of money.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Muskydave22
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,716 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
     
Feb 07, 2011 05:01 |  #8

Okay, so after a little bit of reading and advice from you guys, I am thinking the best setup for me would be a Windows machine, ie Sandy Bridges processor probably the I7 2600, a nice amount of ram and a few high speed hard drives and a ssd for start up would be best for the money.

HP has their 570t series which has the I7 2600 processor and I am just going to upgrade the video card/power supply and get some extra hard drive space. I think that will give me a good setup, along with two Dell U2311h monitors and I'm all set.


Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
npompei
Senior Member
563 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Warrington, PA
     
Feb 07, 2011 07:32 |  #9

Just make sure that Dell still has them in stock. After the intel announcement last week, you might have a hard time getting a SB machine/MOBO.

Hopefully they have things resolved but I have heard April-ish for a restock of motherboards. Just an FYI


www.nickpompei.com (external link)
Flickr (external link)
Canon 5d3-gripped / Canon 5d / Canon EOS M / Phottix Mitros + (3) / Tamron 17-35 (2.8-4.0) / Tamron 28-75 (2.8) / Canon 35L / Canon 50 (1.4) / Sigma 85 (1.4) / Canon 70-200(2.8)IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kitacanon
Goldmember
4,706 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 36
Joined Sep 2006
Location: West Palm Beach
     
Feb 07, 2011 08:00 |  #10

If you go HP don't overlook the user forum...

http://h30434.www3.hp.​com/psg/ (external link)


My Canon kit 450D/s90; Canon lenses 18-55 IS, 70-210/3.5-4.5....Nikon kit: D610; 28-105/3.5-4.5, 75-300/4.5-5.6 AF, 50/1.8D Nikkors, Tamron 80-210; MF Nikkors: 50/2K, 50/1.4 AI-S, 50/1.8 SeriesE, 60/2.8 Micro Nikkor (AF locked), 85mm/1.8K-AI, 105/2.5 AIS/P.C, 135/2.8K/Q.C, 180/2.8 ED, 200/4Q/AIS, 300/4.5H-AI, ++ Tamron 70-210/3.8-4, Vivitar/Kiron 28/2, ser.1 70-210/3.5, ser.1 28-90; Vivitar/Komine and Samyang 28/2.8; 35mm Nikon F/FM/FE2, Rebel 2K...HTC RE UWA camera

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mjmackinnon
Senior Member
808 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Feb 07, 2011 08:30 |  #11

Back up your data. Format the laptop and re-install windows. You probably will see a 30-40% speed improvement bump just for your effort.

Windows doesn't like it when you use it, and tends to degrade in performance. But it sells computers as when you get a new machine it seems so much faster. It's just a new install of windows.


My Flickr (external link) - Canon EOS 5Diii | EF 50f/1.4 | EF 24-105 f/4L IS| EF 100-400L IS | EF 70-200f/4L |430 EX II | Elinchrom BX500Ri
Post Production: i7-2600k, Win7, iMac 27 i7 | Adobe Photoshop CS6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uOpt
Goldmember
Avatar
2,283 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA, USA
     
Feb 09, 2011 15:01 |  #12

Muskydave22 wrote in post #11788307 (external link)
I have been editing my 5d2 files for the past 8 months or so on my Toshiba satellite laptop with a Core Duo processor and 4 gb of ram.

Clockspeed? CoreDuo or Core2Duo?

Muskydave22 wrote in post #11788307 (external link)
The thing is a dog when I import raw files and try to edit them in photoshop.

My first instinct was to spend a $100 and put 4 more gb of ram in my laptop, but is that really going to make a huge difference?

Did you look whether you run out of RAM?

I have 8 GB and can run out easily with my 40D files when opening a couple at once for PP.

Muskydave22 wrote in post #11788307 (external link)
My second instinct, which I have been wanting to do for a while, is jump to mac with either the top end Imac or the low end mac pro. I love the screen of the 27" Imac and I heard that with the I7 processor and 12gb of ram, that thing really has some nice speed. But I have heard the Imac's are going to be revamped soon, and since I won't be making this purchase till April at least, I should wait for the new ones to come out and see what they come up with.

You need to know what you got. If you have a 3 GHz Core2Duo then a slower clocked Mac, even if it has an i-core something or other, won't be an improvement (unless you ran out of RAM and you need to check that first).


My imagine composition sucks. I need a heavier lens.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Muskydave22
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,716 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
     
Feb 09, 2011 16:04 |  #13

I have 4gb of RAM, can expand to 8 gb, and have a 2.1 ghz Core2Duo processor T6500. I used to be able to open up my 40D files no problem too, but the 5d2 files are huge and I want to do some video work too. It takes hours to render a damn 10min video on my laptop.


Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uOpt
Goldmember
Avatar
2,283 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA, USA
     
Feb 09, 2011 16:14 |  #14

"Render"? If you mean encoding then yes only a faster CPU will help, and more cores, too. There's not much RAM involved there.


My imagine composition sucks. I need a heavier lens.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 372
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Feb 10, 2011 00:05 |  #15

Muskydave22 wrote in post #11810587 (external link)
I have 4gb of RAM, can expand to 8 gb, and have a 2.1 ghz Core2Duo processor T6500. I used to be able to open up my 40D files no problem too, but the 5d2 files are huge and I want to do some video work too. It takes hours to render a damn 10min video on my laptop.

You need a 64 bit OS to take advantage of more then 4GB of RAM.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,637 views & 0 likes for this thread
Computer Dilemma
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is clippingpathboss
367 guests, 160 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.